Germaican Records International
7" Single
September 19, 2004

Artist & tune

  • Capleton - Baby Rfx / Seeed - Curefix (Version)
  • Seeed - Release Rfx / Sizzla Show The Interest Rfx
  • T.O.K. - Shining Star Rfx / Delly Ranks I'm In Love Rfx
  • Ce'Cile - Rude Bwoy Thug Life Rfx / Wayne Marshall - She Want Rfx
Overall rating : (1 to 5 stars)   
Some two years after the first singles for the Tom Topp produced "Cure" riddim were released on Germaican Records the dancehall massive is treated to a new set of singles featuring 7 cuts across the Seeed-refix version of the riddim that is based around the sample of the Cure's "Close To You". First to hit the decks is Capleton who comes up with a brand new piece for the riddim called "Baby". Regularly switching from singing to deejaying Capleton rides the riddim with ease. It's a fine tune much in the same vein delivered and lyrically equally strong as his "In Her Heart" on the "Chrome" riddim. Seeed's own "Release" has already gained a lot of mainstream attention because the tune has been picked by Puma for their TV-ad of athletics gear. After this wicked piece of German-bred dancehallreggae it's Sizzla's "Show The Interest" that makes a real good impression, just like it did in its original version. Next it's up to T.O.K. and Delly Ranks for their "Shining Star" and "I'm In Love" over the refixed riddim, that seems to match with it as well as it did with their original tunes. Unfortunately Tanya Stephens' "Need Your Loving Tonight" is not included here and thus we have to deal with the Refix version of Ce'Cile's "Rude Bwoy Thug Life", and that's not bad at all. Actually the pairing of her tune with Wayne Marshall's awesome new cut "She Want" makes this single an excellent purchase. Once again Seeed and Germaican Records have managed to produce a batch of tunes that help to maintain the international acclaim they already found.