Akom Records
7" Single / Digital Release
May 27, 2009

Artist & tune

  • Pressure Buss Pipe - Hail Fari
  • Lorenzo - How Can I
  • Antonio West - Rude Bwoy
  • Jah Mason - Jah Cause The Light
  • Natty King - Still Have Love
  • Stikki - Leaders Of The World
  • Edge Michael - Higher Meditation
  • Dub Akom Band - Highlight Riddim Version
Overall rating : (1 to 5 stars)   
In the summer of 2008 backing band and riddim makers Dub Akom from Marseille, France, unleashed their fresh original "Vitamin" riddim on their own imprint Akom Records. Apart from the vocal efforts of the artists involved, one of the joys to listen to that powerful rootical backdrop was the use of real instruments to lay down the riddim. Now the Dub Akom Band presents its brand new riddim entitled "Highlight", which matches if not outmatches the "Vitamin". Internationally well known names like Jah Mason, Pressure Buss Pipe, and Natty King, are joined by up and coming artists such as Antonio West, Lorenzo, and Stikki.

V.I.'s Pressure Buss Pipe is the first to ride the carefully constructed "Highlight". He's in real good shape and his excellent cultural piece "Hail Fari" sets the tone for the blazing one drop riddim with its edgy bass line. Strong lyrics and melodic skill make Lorenzo's "How Can I" worth of hearing, while "Rude Bwoys" shows that newcomer Antonio West can keep up with the better known artists. One of them is Jah Mason, whose solid "Jah Cause The Light" is another tune not too miss. Singer Natty King already made a very good impression on the "Vitamin" riddim, and continues to do so on this new backdrop with "Still Have Love". Until now we hadn't heard of Stikki, but his "Leaders Of The World" indicates that he's an artist to watch for in the near future. The same goes for the former lead singer of the Gumption Band, Edge Michael. Even though he's almost a veteran in the business with several 7" singles and three full length albums under his belt, the singer is still waiting for wider recognition. His (second) teaming up with Akom Records might give him a decent push in the right direction. Edge Michael's "Higher Meditation" is for download only and the same goes for the version of the riddim.

Any modern roots aficionado should buy the 7" singles or otherwise download the tracks legally from any good e-music store. We're pretty sure you won't be disappointed.