Red Nile Music / Music Factory
Snake Charmer
Pre-release promo copy
March 18, 2009

Artist & tune

  • Torch - The X-Files
  • Torch - Holy Mount Zion
  • Tony Curtis - Angel Over Me
  • Samita - Won't Give Up On You
  • Lutan Fyah feat. Sophia Squire - Baby I Love You
  • Oneil Peart - Still Got The Blues
  • Hezron - Midnight Hour
  • I King - Banks Of The River Nile
  • Carol Gonzales - I Wanna Be The One
Overall rating : (1 to 5 stars)   
The roots of Red Nile Music were sown in the year 2000 when then music enthusiast Evon 'Red Nile' Mullings walked into a recording studio for the first time. Since that time Evon has been honing his skills as a producer and developing his grasp on the 'business of music'. Evon owns several labels including Red Nile Music and Jugga-Naut Productions. And now on Red Nile Music he releases the 'Snake Charmer'-riddim that has been built by Mario 'Mad Scientist' Lawrence from Music Factory.

This very nice one drop riddim with an extremely intriguing keyboard-riff accent on top features two more tunes from talented Penthouse / Music Factory protégé Torch (formerly known as Honey Comb), the almost only on its hookline based "The X-Files" that is available in both a raw and edited version and the better of the two tunes "Holy Mount Zion", again two singjay instead of singers tunes that only rise the expectations for his upcoming full length debut-album followed by Tony Curtis from L.U.S.T. with the excellent "Angel Over Me".

Sweet voiced UK-born Samita contributes the wonderful "Won't Give Up" before Lutan Fyah teams up Sophia Squire for the lovers duet "Baby I Love You" and Oniel Peart with the melancholic "Still Got The Blues". Newcomer to the Jamaican scene (but former Atlanta dub-stalwart) Hezron impresses with the soulful "Midnight Hour" and so does upcoming roots singer I King with his "Banks Of The River Nile". The last (but certainly not least) song of this selection comes from Penthouse veteran Carol Gonzales (alongside Buju in 1993!) with the magnificent "I Wanna Be The One". Look out for this brilliantly arranged riddim with lots of great vocals over it as soon as it officially gets released.