Live In San Francisco
Beenie Man
October 19, 2004

Label 2B1 Multimedia Inc.
Format DVD - Region Free + Audio CD
Languages English
Subtitles None
Length Approx. 65 minutes
Producer/Director Boots Hughston for 2B1 Multimedia Inc.
Beenie Man, real name Anthony Moses Davis, was born 22 August 1973, in Waterhouse, Kingston, Jamaica. He started his musical career toasting at the age of five. His uncle Sydney Wolf was a musician playing drums for Jimmy Cliff, and encouraged his nephew. After winning the Teeny Talent show at eight years old, radio disc jockey Barry G introduced him to King Jammy's, Volcano and other sound systems, where he soon established notoriety. His popularity inspired Bunny Lee to invite him into the studio, resulting in the release of the album "The Ten Year Old DJ Wonder". An early example of his style can be heard on the live session set "Junjo Presents Two Big Sound", alongside Dillinger, U Brown, Toyan and Early B, among others. He also enjoyed a hit single produced by Winston "Niney" Holness, "Too Fancy"/"Over The Sea", which was followed by a lengthy silence.

In the nineties Beenie Man returned with a number of singles, beginning with "Wicked Man'. After this, the hits kept coming, with Beenie Man holding the top chart positions in Jamaica. As is often the case when a deejay becomes popular, an obligatory clash with an equally popular deejay - in his case, Bounty Killer - was arranged, with the event taking place at Sting 1993.
Following the clash, the release of "Guns Out" featured both deejays, further fuelling support for the individual toasters. Working with Sly And Robbie, Beenie Man covered two of Bob Marley's hits, "No Mama (Sic) No Cry" and "Crazy Baldhead", the latter in a combination with Luciano. His version of "No Woman No Cry" represented a condemnation of the ghetto violence that had claimed the lives of some of the island's top performers. Still courting controversy, Beenie Man released "Slam", the lyrics of which suggested that downtown girls were better lovers than those who lived uptown. His success led many to believe that Beenie Man had taken the crown from Buju Banton as the top Jamaican deejay.In 1995 Beenie Man was romantically linked with Carlene (The Dancehall Queen), and the photogenic couple became Jamaica's equivalent to royalty. He also formed a pact with Bounty Killer through the arbitrating skills of Jamaican radio disc jockey Richard Burgess.

In 1996, Beenie Man embarked on a highly acclaimed international tour with the Shocking Vibes crew. "Many Moods Of Moses" was another acclaimed set, with the single "Who Am I" breaking the singer into the international charts in March 1998 without major label backing or strong radio support. It also established him in the U.S., earning two Grammy nominations and the biggest chart success of his career. He continued to build on this breakthrough with the major label releases, the Grammy Award winning "Art And Life" and "Tropical Storm".

This DVD release captures Beenie Man's consistent and electrifying live performance at the legendary Maritime Hall in San Francisco, backed by impeccable music from Ruff Kutt, his backing band of many years. The show was part of the seven-week "Art & Life" tour of North America which took him and the Shocking Vibes crew through major markets in both the United States and Canada in 2001. Performing 23 of his over 60 hit tunes, the undisputed king of dancehall, Beenie Man, blurs the lines between reggae, hip hop, and pop with a style that has made him a favorite of live audiences, remaining simultaneously both raw and commercially viable. The quality of the images are fairly good, and the same goes for the sound. All in all this DVD is a good purchase for Beenie Man fans and those who want to check him "live in concert".

The DVD features 3 camera video shoot, Dolby Digital 5.1/PCM Stereo, discography and 2B1 complete poster catalog.
These are the songs included on this dvd :

  1. No Rough Like We
  2. Gimme Da Gal aka Wicked Slam
  3. Blessed
  4. Heaven vs. Hell
  5. Freedom
  6. Burn Di Chronic with Silvercat
  7. Murderer
  8. Tell Me
  9. Fire Burn
  10. Everything
  11. Ain't Going Out Like Dat
  12. Bad Man
  13. A No Like We
  14. Nuff Gal
  15. Carnival
  16. Romie
  17. Look Into My Eyes
  18. Haters & Fools
  19. Has The World Go Mad
  20. $100 Bag
  21. Send Dem
  22. Gun Shot
  23. Who Am I
Besides the DVD there's also a full length CD included, with over 60 minutes of Beenie Man "Toasting" through 10 years of #1 hits, Beenie Man Freestyle. Plus Bonus Haters and Fools Hip-Hop Remix.