Live On The Battlefield
Anthony B
August 4, 2002

Label Next Music/Walboomers Music
Format DVD - Region 2
Languages English
Subtitles None
Length Approx. 80 minutes
Producer/Director Next Music & Richard Bell
Besides the release of a 30-track double-cd, France based record company "Next Music" has also issued Anthony B's "Live On the Battlefield" on DVD. "Live On the Battlefield" was filmed with two cameras and is a decent registration of the militant deejay/chanter's live performance at Le Bikini in Toulouse, France on 10th July 2001.

Anthony B emerged in the mid-nineties when he established his name at the forefront of Jamaica's new generation of cultural performers with his stunning debut album "Real Revolutionary", which was produced by Richard "Bello" Bell. Actually Anthony B is the "Original Fireman" as the entire "more fire" vogue in reggae lyrics of the past years can be traced back to 1996 when Anthony B had an enormous hit in Jamaica and beyond with his Star Trail single "Fire Pon Rome". More than half a decade later Anthony B is still loyal to Richard Bell's Star Trail camp, although he also took the opportunity to record for other roots oriented labels including Kickin', Xterminator, X-Rated, Manatee, Henfield and Jazzy Creation.

In recent times Anthony B, just like for example Sizzla, has also delivered cuts over drum-driven hardcore riddims. However, those tunes aren't included on the set lists of his live shows, something one shouldn't regret as he is at his very best when tackling fuller, more traditional sounding riddims. The latter can be experienced while playing this DVD, which provides a good impression of Anthony B's energy and conscious vibe when he's performing in front of an audience. Backed by the tight playing Star Trail Family Band - consisting of Steve "Snagga" Richards (drums), Samuel "One Drop" Richards (bass), Lenval "Shayar" Jarrett (guitar), Edward "Keysie" Jackson (keyboards) - and the female backing vocalists Novlette Williams and Makiesha McTaggart - Anthony B brings a very entertaining set of mostly well known tunes. These are the songs he performs :
  1. Intro : Burnin' And Lootin' 1:35
  2. Storm Winds 4:17
  3. Hurt The Heart 2:45
  4. Universal Struggle 3:31
  5. Raid De Barn 4:16
  6. Good Life 3:32
  7. Joy 2:47
  8. Fire Dance 3:23
  9. I Don't Wanna Lose 4:18
  10. Bun Down Sodom 1:15
  11. One Thing 2:47
  12. Prophecy A Reveal 6:24
  13. Damage 5:34
  14. Family Business 1:58
  15. Jerusalem 6:00
  16. Stand Up & Fight 2:50
  17. Musical Fire 2:58
  18. One Love - Instrumental 1:45
  19. Give Thanks 2:57
  20. Fireman 1:51
  21. Rumour 2:30
  22. Love Or Infatuation 7:44
  23. Redder Than Red / Faxx 4:37