10 Deadly Shots Vol. 1
10 Ft. Ganja Plant
June 29, 2010

10 Track list
  1. Bonny & Clyde
  2. Apache Kid
  3. Dillinger
  4. Jesse James
  5. Belle Starr
  6. Machine Gun
  7. Kid Curry
  8. Billy The Kid
  9. Black Bart
  10. Sundance Kid
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 5-
Very Good -Votes: 8-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 20
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
"It's a cold weekend in February 2010. The vibes brew as the room fills, while the bass thumps a beat and the snare drum rings a tune. The chords echo through the room as the smell of analog tape enters the air... A familiar start to a 10 Ft. Ganja Plant recording session. We like to keep things fresh, create a vibe, throw around the ideas, write the track, record the track and never play it again. We record almost all of the records live, everyone in one room. The exception would be the occasional vocal, keyboard guitar horn line that was impossible to play at the same time."

Amongst fans and followers of 10 Ft. Ganja Plant it's well known that the band has a passion for roots deeply rooted in the mid to late 70's. It's not only expressed in their musical efforts which often perfectly capture the 70's spirit, but also in the use of analog studio equipment and the mastering process. For the "10 Deadly Shots" album the band was strongly inspired by the Lee Perry produced Western-themed instrumental albums from The Upsetters that were released in the late 60's/early 70's, when everyone was raving for the early reggae sound. This first all instrumental album of the mysterious Upstate New York reggae outfit, includes feel-good riddims in a variety of styles including rocksteady, early reggae and roots reggae. Each track comes with a strong focus on the saxophones and is a joy to listen to. Personal favourites are "Apache Kid", "Dillinger", "Belle Star", and "Machine Gun".

This set has whet our appetite and we're already looking forward to the next two volumes in the band's "10 Deadly Shots" series, which will first feature guitar and then just organ.