Hillside Airstrip
10 Ft. Ganja Plant

Track list
  1. Long Time Ago
  2. Pure Sugar
  3. Jah Will Go On
  4. Time I Know
  5. Soul Love
  6. Two Bulls
  7. Walkey Walk Tall
  8. Hillside Airstrip
  9. Born Free
  10. New Day
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Roir has a long tradition of releasing reggae & dub with over 20 years of working with both established acts and unknowns who have that unusual music quality that springboards them to wider recognition and steady sales. In 1984, Roir was the first label to domestically release the work of Adrian Sherwood of On-U Sound, followed up with the Suns of Arqa, Mute Beat, Puls Der Zeit, Badawi, Alpha & Omega, Phase Selector Sound as well as historically releasing reggae stalwarts Mikey Dread, Lee Perry, Yellowman, Scientist, Roots Radics, Big Youth, Skatalites and more.
10 Ft. Ganja Plant is collective, a musical consortium, a group of childhood friends making conscious roots reggae music. 10 Ft. Ganja take chances, they experiment and most importantly they are lovers and practitioners of the 70's Jamaican roots sound. Many of the members come from upstate NY where they have been deeply involved in Reggae music for years playing in bands such as Tribulation and most recently John Brown's Body. This band tours constantly and most of their fans are familiar with 10 Ft Ganja Plant. 10 Ft. Ganja Plant has independently released limited edition vinyl 45's, and a classic CD on their own I-Town record label titled "10 Ft. Ganja Presents". They are well known to those "in the know" and their consistent touring as JBB has already brought them an ever expanding buzz following. Craig Welsch is the brain behind 10 Ft. Ganja Plant. He began as a soundman for John Brown's Body before he started producing, writing, playing and engineering. Shunning digital gear, he uses crusty 70's equipment, records straight to two track analog tape, and usually creates his dubs in real time. His motto is : "Go with your ears, forget all the flashing lights and stuff-just go with what sounds good."
The ten track album provides a good overview of several Jamaican music styles and sounds as if it was recorded somewhere in the seventies in Jamaica. On Soul Love the band sounds like Ken Boothe over a classic rocksteady riddim, whilst Two Bulls could be a majestic roots tune in dub by the mighty Congos. Walkey Walk Tall is a great tune, revisiting Augustus Pablo's style and fashion of the mid seventies. There's also some instrumental reggae here, just listen to the title track Hillside Airstrip. Lee Perry influences can be heard on Jah Will Go On. The album closes with the dub/instrumental track New Day which lasts 12.23 minutes ! The track incorporates two tunes, the first of which is one of the best tributes ever to the dub master King Tubby and the second one reminds me of keyboard player Jackie Mittoo and guitar player Ernest Ranglin.
A very interesting album, with beautiful artwork by Josh Bard and Ras Jay.

Buy the CD