2000 Volts of Holt & 3000 Volts Of Holt
John Holt

Track list

    "2000 Volts Of Holt"

  1. Doctor love
  2. Yester-me, yester-you, yesterday
  3. Touch me in the morning
  4. Keep on moving
  5. I will
  6. Alfie
  7. I'll take a melody
  8. My guiding star
  9. On a clear day you can see forever
  10. Peace and love
  11. Take away my heart Teresa
  12. For the love of you

    "3000 Volts Of Holt"

  13. Let's get it while it's hot
  14. In the springtime
  15. Till I'm gone
  16. Let's kiss and say goodbye
  17. Winter world of love
  18. Oh what a day
  19. Let's do it long
  20. No place like home
  21. Ungrateful lady
  22. You will never find another love like mine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Trojan has recently started re-issueing vintage albums (see also Jackpot of Hits / Explosive Rocksteady) and Soul Of Jamaica / Here Comes The Duke ), putting two lp's on one compact disc. This compact discs contains the two mid seventies albums "2000 Volts Of Holt" & "3000 Volts Of Holts" , the first being produced in 1975 by Keith Bonsoir, the second in 1977 by Bunny Lee, who left out the elaborate orchestration so evident on the other album. In between these two albums John Holt recorded a series of more rootsy style tracks, "Up Park Camp" being his biggest hit in 1975 (for Channel One producer J.J. Hookim) that stayed in the Jamaican charts for 20 weeks. Most tracks on this cd are covers of pop standards, soul ballads and evergreens. This might be the reason John Holt is under-rated amongst more snobbish fans, because of this flirtation with the pop world.