7 Days A Week
Don Carlos

Track list
  1. Movin' (To the top)
  2. Africa
  3. Fight the revolution
  4. Civilized featuring Gold
  5. Guide us (Jah Jah oh Jah Jah) featuring Gold
  6. 7 days a week
  7. Sunshine
  8. Baby you know
  9. Holiday
  10. Time
  11. Come let's party
  12. Notty notty (Fast lane)
  13. You've changed
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Reggae veteran Don Carlos was the co-founder of the original Black Uhuru line-up, the group he formed with Garth Dennis and Duckie Simpson in 1978. After splitting up Don Carlos joined the ranks of producer Bunny Lee, with whom he cut some heavyweight slices of roots music. The first half of the eighties was a prolific period for the 'wailing' Don Carlos, releasing fine albums on a variety of labels. During the eighties he kept on recording in his typical chanting style. In 1990 he joined up with Duckie Simpson and Garth Dennis to re-form the original Black Uhuru, which made him put his solo career on hold. After a number of successful albums and tours Don and Duckie had a parting of ways and the group split up.
"7 Days A Week" marks the welcome return of Don Carlos as a solo performer delivering a steady selection of well constructed songs in his inimitable style. Carlos is backed by fine musicians like Flabba Holt, Dwight Pickney, Mallory Williams, Squidley Cole and Englishman, who provide a fresh and sophisticated "live" sound. Furthermore there are vocal contributions of Gold and Winston Watson (a member of the Meditations). This fairly solid album once again showcases the skill and talents of a distinctive singer who always remained true to his roots. His fans will just love it and those who aren't familiar with the output of this veteran should check it out for sure !