89th Ave.
Dr. Paul
Chain Gang / Flynn & Flynn Music

Track list
  1. Top 20
  2. Fever
  3. Crystal Blue
  4. Reggae Bop featuring Sharon Forrester
  5. Jam Down Cowboy
  6. Looting
  7. Indian Hemp
  8. Country Breeze
  9. Marcus
  10. Thunderdome
  11. Jamaican Girl
  12. Journey
  13. Slippery When Wet
  14. Higher Ground
  15. The Gong
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Dr. Paul (Hamilton) began his career as a session musician at Aquarius Studio in Kingston, Jamaica, before becoming the bass player for the 'Cool Ruler' Gregory Isaacs. Later on he founded and played bass for the Ryddim Kings and Ruff Kut bands. By the late eighties Dr. Paul was Shabba Ranks' musical director during the former King of DJ's glorious "House Call" Grammy reign. After years of touring he finally left the road in the early nineteens and became the producer and chief engineer for his home-based Chain Gang Studio, located at 89th Avenue in Tamarac, Florida. Dr. Paul's debut CD is named after that street, where he has lived and worked for the past eight years. "89th Ave." features fifteen instrumental tracks played and arranged by Dr. Paul including seven originals and eight reworkings of well known reggae tunes like for example Gregory Isaacs' "Top Ten", the Wailers' "Burnin And Lootin" and Burning Spear's "Marcus Garvey" alongside covers of pop songs like Brenda Lee's "Fever", Jane Birkin & Serge Gainsbourg's sensual "Je t'Aime... Moi Non Plus" and Stevie Wonder's "Higher Ground". Dr. Paul plays all instruments on the CD, but is supported by Eugene Grey on jazz guitar and Third World's renown Stephen "Cat" Coore on rock guitar and harmonica. Dr. Paul has blended reggae with latin, rock, jazz and hip-hop, thus making "89th Ave." a well varied album which aims at a crossover audience.