A Better Place
Artists Only! Records

Track list
  1. A Better Place
  2. Weed Fi Burn
  3. Love Will Turn You Around
  4. What You Gonna Do
  5. Gangsta Life
  6. You Got Me Going
  7. King Selassie I
  8. Higher
  9. Only Jah
  10. Doesn't Matter
  11. Back Weh Vampire
  12. Fill My Cup
  13. Old Gun John Crow
  14. Mama
  15. Electric Chair
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
"A Better Place" is the follow-up to Bushman's first two albums, the Steely & Clevie produced debut set "Nyah Man Chant" and "Total Commitment" for veteran producer King Jammy. This third album from Dwight Duncan aka Bushman saw its initial release on the Artists Only! label in the year 2000, but for whatever reason was withdrawn shortly after. Now the album has been unleashed once again, however with a different track order and with the addition of the tracks "Weed Fi Burn" and "Electric Chair", the latter courtesy of Ajang Production. Bushman, who grew up in a rural area called Prospect Beach in the Parish of St. Thomas, Jamaica, belongs to the new generation of conscious singers that emerged in the second half of the nineties. As a matter of fact he wanted to become a deejay, but as he was strongly advised to try his luck as a singer, he focussed on a singing career. It was Wycliffe 'Steely' Johnson who discovered Bushman's talent and invited him to record some songs at Steely and Clevie's Studio 2000, finally leading to the release of his first album. Since the release of this well-received debut set in 1997 Bushman has won over many fans of modern roots reggae. For "A Better Place" Bushman has teamed with the powerhouse UK production team of Stingray Records, the reggae studio and label that has emerged as one of the best production camps in the UK since it was founded in 1994 by the McLeod brothers. All tracks on "A Better Place" are solid to excellent tunes and carry a crisp and clear vibe. Bushman delivers his conscious lyrics dealing with reality and lovers themes over strong, appealing riddims laid by the UK and Jamaica's finest studio talent including Dalton Browne, Tony "Ruff Cutt" Phillips, Winston "Sax" Rose, Computer Paul, Kenton "Fish" Brown, Carlton "Bubblers" Ogilvie and Paul Yebuah, to name a few. Every song featured on "A Better Place" is very entertaining and thus truly worth of hearing. Our personal favorites include the album opener "A Better Place", the outrageous "What You Gonna Do", the beautiful "Gangsta Life", the cultural "King Selassie I", "Only Jah" (Bushman's answer version to Freddie McGregor's "Key To The City") and the singles "Fill My Cup" and "Higher". The latter is a mournful sufferer's lament delivered across the surging, rootical "Lava" riddim.
Great to have this album back in the racks, because this set represents the best of modern British reggae production and thus should be available for any fan of prime reggae vocal music.