My Hope
Anthony B
Minor7Flat5-Groove Attack
August 15, 2005

Track list
  1. My Hope
  2. Global Awareness
  3. More Pon More
  4. Don't Cry feat. Mark Wonder
  5. Strong Shoulder
  6. Jah Alone
  7. Dancehall Thing
  8. Watch Over My Head
  9. Girl Look Fine
  10. Face Off feat. Gentleman
  11. Rise Up feat. Taffari
  12. Crown I
  13. Rastaman She Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
This is Anthony B's first album for the Gran Canaria, Spain based German producer Andreas 'Brotherman' Christopherson and Jamaica's Al.Ta.Fa.An. crew recorded for Brotherman's Minor7Flat5-label this album, after the already well received big albums "Different Thing" by Turbulence, "Tell It From The Heart" by Luciano, Al Pancho's "Righteous Men", and Lutan Fyah's "Dem No Know Demself". 13 mostly very rootsy riddims, played by Jamaica’s top studio musicians like Leroy "Horse Mouth" Wallace, Lloyd "Obea" Denton, Winston "Bopee" Bowen, Sticky Uziah Thompson, George "Dusty" Miller, Donald "Mr Biggs" Dennis, Paul "Wrongmove" Crossdale, Mitchum Chin, Dean Frazer, Nambo Robinson, Dwight Richards and others. Backed by harmony singers Brian & Tony Gold, Leeba Hibbert, Nicky Tucker and Pam Hall, Anthony B performes a lively mixture of positive and revolutionary rasta lyrics, story-telling and love-songs. For the warm and rootsy sound producer Brotherman was supported by engineers 'Soljie' Hamilton, Barry O'Hare, Nigel Burrel and others, working in Tuff Gong , Steven Stanley's, 321 Strong, Barry Grammys, Frontroom and Kingston Music recording studios. And it's become an excellent album, opened by the very melodic upful "My Hope", followed by the call for "Global Awareness" over the 'Friedenland'-riddim with its wicked Nambo Robinson trombone and the excellent ganja tune "More Pon More". "Don't Cry" is a very fine combination with underrated singer Mark Wonder followed by the less strong "Strong Shoulder" on which Anthony B's singing is not as good as his delivery on the other tunes, but it is immediately made up for on the great "Jah Alone" and "Dancehall Thing" over the love-it-or-hate-it 'Classic'-riddim with its prominent classical string riffs. "Watch Over My Head" is an excellent take on the rootsy superb 'Sunday'-riddim, and the lovers tune (on which Anthony B's vocals seem to be too far behind in the mix) "Girl Look Fine" rides the 'Security'-riddim of Jamaica's Al.Ta.Fa.An crew, who are also responsible for the excellent combination "Face Off" with Gentleman over their 'Jelani'-riddim. "Rise Up", the combination with Taffari, uses yet another Al.Ta.Fa.An riddim, their remake of the riddim used for Burning Spear's "Fire Down Below" at Studio One, 'Immigration'. "Crown I" is a conscious tune that uses a heavily dubbed up rhythm to full effect, before the album is closed over Al.Ta.Fa.An's just released smooth 'Tsahai'-riddim with "Rastaman She Love". Yet another great Brotherman & Al.Ta.Fa.An. produced album, and another album showcasing that Anthony B (as he impressively showed this year at this year's Summerjam in Cologne, Germany) is one of the most important and consistent cultural singjays from Jamaica now. An album recommended for anyone who likes rootsy riddims, cultural lyrics and strong singjays and all already impressed by the earlier mentioned Minor7Flat5 releases.