Abso Root ly Hot
Rob Symeonn
THC Music
13 - 11 - 2001

Track list
  1. Giveth And Taketh Away
  2. Dubeth And Taketh Away
  3. Never Turn My Back On You
  4. Bible
  5. Lion In The Jungle
  6. I'm In The Mood
  7. Leaders
  8. Put Down Your Guns
  9. Pick Up Your Dub
  10. True Born Rasta
  11. Just Can't Get Close To You
  12. Good, Clean And Conscious
  13. Good, Clean And Dubwise
  14. Chant Rasta Song featuring Ruff Scott
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Rob Symeonn, the Spark Igniter, began singing as a youth and sharpened his skills as a singer and entertainer by working with New York based sound systems for years. It was Easy Star Records that recognized Symeonn's talent and brought him to a wider audience when they released his well received debut single "Anything For Jah" in July 1997. His follow up single "Delilah" - the killer combination tune with the legendary deejay Ranking Joe - saw its release in May 1998. Regarding this effort we then stated.. "Rob Symeonn is certainly someone to watch for in the future as he is one of the most promising singer/songwriter talents within the roots & culture section." More than three years later we are treated to the singer's first full length CD "Abso Root ly Hot". Recorded at Selah Studio, Hawaii, and produced by The Heartical Crew and Rob Symeonn himself, "Abso Root ly Hot" certainly lives up to expectations. First of all it's a real joy to hear a fine singer with a distinctive voice. Furthermore one is kept involved by this Rastaman's conscious and upful lyrics, which are delivered over appealing, well laid riddims, courtesy of Isis, Idrum, Maakah, Poppa E, Jah Son, Solomon, Kaikua, Binghi T (all members of The Heartical Crew) and Rob Symeonn. The musical backdrops featured on this set are mainly fresh originals, but one can also hear some decent interpretations of classic riddims like for example The Abyssinians' scorcher "Declaration Of Rights", which is utilized for a standout piece entitled "True Born Rasta". Other standouts are "Bible", "Put Down Your Guns", "Leaders", "Lion In The Jungle", the infectious "Never Turn My Back On You" and the impressive "I'm In The Mood", which carries a jazzy feel. All in all this album contains no weak moments. It's truly well worth checking if you are looking for sweet melodies, delivered by a singer with a distinct and inimitable vocal style and bubbling scats.