Acata (Reggae Music And Then Some)
Spirit Chill

Track list
  1. Golddigga (featuring TOJ 1200)
  2. Hood holocaust (featuring Mr. Murdock)
  3. Lick it ! (featuring Andrew B.)
  4. Mr. B
  5. By my side
  6. Golddigga remix
  7. Acata
  8. Haffe survive
  9. Interview with the Spirit
  10. Looters
  11. 16 years ol'
  12. Que sera
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
"Acata" (released in 1995) is the first solo cd from the lead singer of Pittburgh's C.F.I. Massive, calling himself Spirit. Predominantly dancehall in direction, this album features mostly original material, some of which is sung (these tracks belong to the best included on this disc). The majority of the cuts are "deejay stylee", but there are also a roots tune ("Haffe survive") and some really nice romantic ballads ("By my side" and "16 years ol'"). The most remarkable and unusual tracks to be found on this disc are the title track, which harks to ancient African origins with drums cushioning a spoken-word recitation, the experimental "Looters" and the four-minute Q and A with the deejay/singer.