Addicted To Music
September 3, 2004

Track list
  1. Addicted To Music
  2. Reggae Party
  3. Rasta Is The Highest
  4. Let There Be Peace feat. Junior Kelly
  5. Try Love
  6. One Jah
  7. Rise Up feat. Anthony B
  8. Do What You Doing
  9. True Faith
  10. Terrible Now-A-Days
  11. Evil Eat Itself
  12. One Love Gentleman
  13. We All Share The Same World
  14. Break Down Babylon
  15. Devils Angel
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Born as Boris Anthony Silvera in the district Bagnol Spring in the Parish of St. Mary on March 8, 1971 Taffari grew up in the countryside of Jamaica before moving to Kingston at the age of 16. He started to sing utilizing the name Singing Bird and recorded his first tune, "Nice Girl", in 1988. In 1990/91 he voiced a remake of Millie Small's "My Boy Lollipop" for producer Phillip 'Fattis' Burrell, and recorded for a few other producers like Mikey Magic, Impact from New York, Super Blaster and policeman Isiah Laing, but some of these tunes were never released. He then decided to take a break to concentrate on writing new songs. In 1997 he linked with producer Syl Gordon of 321 Strong and voiced the song "Take I Away (Eastern Side)" over a remake of Dennis Brown's "Tribulation" riddim. Whilst starting to record an album for 321 Strong, Singing Bird changed his name to Taffari, because now he was dealing with serious message tunes.
Since the year 2000 Taffari - a fine singer with a distinctive vocal style - has been releasing a string of notable singles including "One Love (Flesh & Blood)", "Shouldn't Dis The Giver", "Be Merciful", "Addicted To Music", "Jah Is Our Guide", "I Am A Rebel", "Try Love", and "We Need Love", to name a few. And now there's Taffari's long awaited debut album "Addicted To Music" on the European "Minor7 Flat5" label. The cd contains 15 songs performed over acoustic riddim tracks that have been laid by the Firehouse Crew and Dean Fraser. Production credits go to veteran engineer and producer Cedrica "Soljie" Hammilton, the AL.TA.FA.AN crew (Taffari, Anthony Senior and engineer Anthony "Al" Graham), Syl Gordon, and Danny "Pepperseed" Bouten. Besides the inclusion of some previously released singles such as the entertaining title track "Addicted To Music", the very enjoyable and solid "Try Love", the awesome "Terrible Now-A-Days", and the excellent combination tune with Anthony B, "Rise Up", over a remake of Burning Spear's "Fire Down Below" riddim, this set mainly contains brand new material. "Do What You Doing", the killer "Evil Eat Itself", "One Jah", "Devils Angel", the nyabinghi flavored "Break Down Babylon", and the combination with Gentleman, "One Love", are the strongest of the new ones featured here. The only disappointment for us is "Reggae Party", a meaningless tune that doesn't fit in with a conscious-minded artist who is capable of delivering songs with meaningful lyrics. Aside from this "gross" mistake, "Addicted To Music" is a worthwhile album that should not be overlooked.