African Dub Chapter Three
Joe Gibbs & The Professionals
17 North Parade / VP Records
December 11, 2007

Track list
  1. Chapter Three
  2. Rema Dub
  3. Tribesman Rockers
  4. Freedom Call
  5. Jubilation Dub
  6. The Entebbe Affair
  7. Angolian Chant
  8. Zion Gate
  9. Jungle Dub
  10. Dub Three
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4/5
Launched this year by VP Records, the 17 North Parade imprint is set up to pay homage to the historic location of Randyís Record Mart, the premier recording studio and record shop in Kingston, and the Mecca for Reggae music between the late 60's and 70ís.

The African Dub albums by producer Joe Gibbs and engineer Errol Thompson are dub albums that made dub popular, not only in Jamaica but also in the rest of the world. Joe Gibbs was one of Jamaica's most influential producers during the seventies and early eighties. His long lasting relationship with the late sound engineer Errol Thompson, who had left Randy's Studio 17 prior to working with Joe Gibbs, resulted in producing more than well over one hundred #1 hit records. They became famous as 'The Mighty Two'.

Dub versions of popular Jamaican songs started emerging in the late 60's. Eventually, studio engineers and producers such as King Tubby, Derrick Harriot, Clive Chin, Errol Thompson and Harrie Mudy mixed and modified the dub tracks, occasionally using the voice as an additional instrument. The evolution of dub finally resulted led to point were the dub tracks stood on their own. Consequently, full length dub albums began to appear, initially in small pressings with high prices. As said before, the "African Dub" series was instrumental in this popularization, making the UK rock charts in 1977.

Chapter Three was released in 1978 following the success of the first 2 Chapters and the instrumental/dub set 'State of Emergency'. Chapter Three proved to be the most successful of th series and genuinely brought the dub form to the ears of many listeners outside the reggae community, although reggae purists didn't approve Erroll Thompson's new 'sound collage' approach that included pure samples such as ringing bells, buzzers, phones, flushing toilets and other experimental synthesized sounds. As with the first two sets in the series, the album reveals many rocksteady riddims updated, but the 'four on the floor' steppers style drumming is even more evident.

Let's check out some riddims here! Chapter Three is a clever reworking of Pablo's 'Rockers Meets King Tubby's Uptown', while Rema Dub finds its origins in the Melodians who recorded 'Everybody Bawling'. Lord Creator recorded the melancholic tune 'Kingston Town' for Clancy Eccles. Listen to the recut of that tune here, recalled Tribesman Rockers. The US soft rock band Bread had a megahit with 'Make It With You' in the early 1970s. The Mighty Diamonds mixed that up with the bassline from the Righteous Flames' Born To BelOved' and called it 'Ghetto Living'. The dub version is called Freedom Call. The Entebbe Affair rewinds the Wailers 'Hypocrites' riddim and Zion Gate is a recut of the Studio One riddim 'Ten To One'. More recuts of Studio originals here are Dub Three (Rockfort Rock), Angolian Chant (Love Me Always) and Jungle Dub (Live & Learn).

Check it out!