African Roots Act 1
Wackies Allstars

Track list
  1. Addis Ababa Dub
  2. Rock Ago Rock
  3. Undying Dub
  4. Freedom Dub
  5. Gem Rock Dub
  6. Wackie Rock Tune
  7. Mozambique Trial
  8. Always Dubbing
  9. Betrayers Call
  10. This Exit
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

This is another superb release in the string of classic Wackies albums that have been (re)released by Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound, as part of their rerelease program of the complete Wackie's catalog. More on their own releases, whether technodub on Basic Channel or their Rhythm & Sound label and also on their classic Wackie's (re)releases can be found here. Originally released on the Five Arts Label in 1977, then re-issued on Wackies in 1980, this album provides a register of producer Clive Hunt's work with a who's who of Jamaican music. Kicking off in "Addis Ababa Dub" with a riddim and percussion on it that can only be seen as a Black Ark piece of work, this level is maintained through the whole disc. "Rock Ago Rock" with its heavily altered 'Jah Rastafari' chants flowing in, out and over the mix, is pure pleasure, followed by the militant yet funky riddim of Channel One's Ernest Wilson track "Undying Love" here dubbed as "Undying Dub". "Freedom Dub" is a bit on the tame side, but "Gem Rock Dub" relying on heavy effects is a nice dub. "Wackie Rock Tune" has already got some traces of the sound the studio and Bullwackies himself would become famous for. More meditative soundscapes from the the Bronx. "Mozambique Trial" is a great dub with many of the vocal kept intact and lots of instrumental effects. "Always Dubbing" is a nice relaxed dub workout, and "Betrayers Call" has, not on the cover, but on the disc itself added False Start, which however is nowhere to be found, what is found is a nice thumping bassline, being the solid rock on which Clive Hunt builds his dub. "This Exit" is in the same vein, although having one of this 'experimental synthi melody lines' on top. A great track however to finish a great album, it should be hoped that Basic Channel will succeed in ultimately having the complete Wackies catalog available, they have certainly made convincing moves till now.