African Countries
Carl McDonald
Studio One
April 24, 1999

Track list
  1. African Countries
  2. Heaven Musta Sent Cha
  3. Brimstone And Fire
  4. Harassment
  5. Jah Is Coming
  6. I Am Standing
  7. Back To Africa
  8. Star
  9. Mystic Music
  10. Satan Soldiers
  11. Babylon Tradition
  12. I've Gotta Have Ya
  13. This Love Inside
  14. Shooting Star
  15. Get Up Jam
  16. Jah Music
  17. Ola Ola
  18. African Countries Intl Mix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Born in Jamaica, Carl "Ramasses" McDonald's musical abilities came to the fore at an early age. He was a member of his church choir and he also represented his High School at various competitions and concerts.In 1966 he migrated to London where he attended Belle School of Music and the Linton School for song writing, arranging and music composition. In the early seventies he moved to the U.S. where he continued to develop his creative skill and talents.

Co-produced by Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd of Studio One fame and LeRoy Graham Jr. Carl McDonald delivers a noteworthy effort with his latest album "African Countries". As the title of the album more or less suggests Carl McDonald deliveres a rootical album. His self-penned tunes express positiveness, consciousness and spirituality, thus sticking to the values of true roots reggae. Furthermore this compact disc contains dynamic and full sounding riddims - no Studio One riddims !! - laid by "live" musicians. The lyrics, the backing and the sophisticated voice of Carl McDonald provide the right vibes for keeping you involved from beginning to end. Best tracks include the title track "African Countries", "Jah Is Coming", "Satan Soldiers" and "Babylon Tradition.