Africans Unite
Sylvan White
Roots Foundation Records
CD / 2LP

Track list
  1. Africans Unite (12" Disco Mix Version)
  2. YouthMan
  3. Mountain Top
  4. Faith
  5. Faith Version
  6. No Babylon System" (12" Disco Mix Version)
  7. World Of Confusion" (12" Disco Mix Version)
  8. Bucky Masa
  9. Perfect Harmony
  10. Mammy & Daddy
  11. Version
  12. One Destiny
  13. One Destiny Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
The first release of the US based record label 'Roots Foundation' is a killer album from beginning to end. Roots vocalist Sylvan White delivers thirteen tracks complete with a number of "Disco Mix" versions originally recorded between the years 1978 - 1983, with 3 of the tracks seeing release for their first time ever. All tracks are backed by either the Soul Syndicate Band or High Times Players and some of the added dubs were mixed by King Tubby himself. Producers of the material include Michael Chin, Delroy McKoy, Clement Hailey, Allan Hoyt & Sylvan White.
Who is Sylvan White? In the liner notes we read that he was born in 1954 and grew up in the (in)famous Greenwich Town community. He grew up with people such as Ear Zero, Prince Allah, Philip Fraser and Bertram Brown. In the early 70's he started out as a record sales man. Freedom Sounds producer Betram Brown invited him to write and voice a tune, the result being the recording of 'Son Be Careful' in 1978. In 1979 he recorded the excellent single World Of Confusion for producer Michael Chin. Soon afterwards Michael Chin formed the Cornerstone label and Sylvan recorded three additional tracks for him : Bucky Masa, a song about the notorious Bucky Marshall, Perfect Harmony and in 1982 the uptempo song Mountain Top. The year 1979 proved very busy for Sylvan. He recorded the magnificent Faith, here complete with the version, and No Babylon System, one more standout track found on the album. For the Church Of Music label he did the killer tunes Africans Unite, and Youthman. In 1983 he cut the self produced Mammy & Daddy, which saw initial release on the 'Leo' label.
The 10 vocal tracks found here have to be regarded as essential roots reggae music from a gifted vocalist, who delivers reggae at its finest, with riddims of equal brilliance to match the excellent vocal delivery!