Rugged Road
The Aggrolites
Young Cub Records
March 23, 2011

Rugged Road - The Aggrolites Track list
  1. Trial And Error
  2. Enemy Dub
  3. Dreaming On Erie
  4. Eye Of Obarbas
  5. The Aggro Band Plays On
  6. Camel Rock
  7. In The Cut
  8. The Heat
  9. Complicated Girl
  10. Out Of Sight
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The Aggrolites were formed in 2002. They started off as a backing band for Derrick Morgan, but later also backed Phyllis Dillon, Scotty, Joseph Hill of Culture, Prince Buster, and Tim Armstrong. Their first album "Dirty Reggae" on Axe records was produced in 2003 and 3 albums later on Hellcat Records, The Aggrolites are back with a nice 10-track album on Young Cub Records. Currently The Aggrolites are Jesse Wagner (vocals, lead guitar), Brian Dixon (rhythm guitar), Roger Rivas (organ), and Jeff Roffredo (bass).

The Aggrolites are well represented in film, television and video games. Their songs have been featured in NBC's Friday Night Lights, MTV's The Hills, Nick Jr.'s Yo Gabba Gabba, USA's Dr. Steve-O, MavTV's Rad Girls, the award-winning surf film The Pursuit, and Australian video game Cricket. The Aggros-backed, Tim Armstrong and Skye Sweetnam duet, "Into Action," is featured in Dream Works Pictures' Hotel For Dogs. Their renditions of The Specials' "Ghost Town" and Musical Youth's "Pass The Dutchie" will be heard in the upcoming teen surf comedy Endless Bummer, and "Free Time" will be in Walden Media's musical-romantic comedy Band Slam.

"Rugged Road" is the title of their latest album, which has been released on the 22nd of March 2011. The first track instantly reminds me of "Police And Thieves" of Junior Murvin and the falsetto voice of Jesse Wagner really enters my ear in stereo like I've never experienced it before. The Aggrolites are touching a lot of genres and areas of reggae history with the new album. I'm hearing influences of salsa, rocksteady, dub and roots. Pieces of music from Augustus Pablo to Lee "Scratch" Perry. They are bringing it all. Most of the songs are instrumentals and are mastered very nice. Reggae Vibes is looking forward to future albums of this American band, which brings the reggae music how it should be. Nice and easy!