No Interest
Grover Records
24 - 11 - 2003

Track list
  1. No Interest
  2. Stranger
  3. Don't Count On Me
  4. Jealousy
  5. Dooh...
  6. Tell Me Your Name
  7. I'm OK
  8. Just One Minute
  9. That's Life
  10. Best Thing Of My Life
  11. Boys Don't Cry
  12. What Do You Want
  13. Feel So Good
  14. Quit That
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Alphaboyschool's second full length album is this "No Interest". Nice horns, good riddim section, the leadvocals now and then a bit thin but that might as well be the sometimes a bit too clean production. Starting this Grover Records' release with the 'let me alone'song "No Interest" (In You), the pace goes up for "Stranger" proving Alphaboyschool plays a very pleasant poppish ska with lyrics that do contribute to the overall pleasure the songs provide. 2Tone is just around the corner in "Don't Count On Me" and later on the album in "That's Life" and "What Do You Want". Pleasant to hear are the vocal harmonies in "Jealousy". The multilingual plea to a foreign girl including Latino-lyrics begging to "Tell Me Your Name" with a 60s style guitarsolo is a fine tune that is followed by "I'm OK" in a slightly dubbed-up reggae style, and "Just One Minute" where the pace is also kept slower. "Best Thing Of My Life" is oldschool soul of the kind you'd expect to hear in a Blues Brothers movie, followed by what indeed is a cover of the Cure's tune "Boys Don't Cry". "Feel So Good" is a slower track with deep-voiced French talk-over. "No Interest" is closed in fine style with the uptempo tune "Quit That", but for me: there's no need for them to do so yet.