A Man And His Hits
Ken Boothe

Track list
  1. Moving Away
  2. You're No Good
  3. Live Good
  4. You're On My Mind
  5. Thinking
  6. Without Love
  7. Tomorrow
  8. Leave Me Crying
  9. Artibella (With Stranger Cole)
  10. The Train Is Coming
  11. Danger Zone
  12. Won't You Come Home (With Delroy Wilson)
  13. Oh Babe (With Delroy Wilson)
  14. I'm A Fool
  15. Lonely Teardrops
  16. Whiney Whiney
  17. Won't You Come Home (Extended Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
Ken Boothe, a singer who is known and loved for his emotive and soulful voice, was born in 1946, Kingston, Jamaica. His sessions with Coxsone Dodd in the 60s resulted in the release of three fine albums. For producer Leslie Kong he scored with 'Freedom Street' and 'Why Baby Why'. Eventually he topped the UK charts in 1974 with 'Everything I Own'. He kept recording for an array of producers in the 70s, 80s and 90s with moderate commercial success. In 1996 he scored with his remake of his Studio One hit The Train Is Coming a duet with Shaggy, for the movie Money Train.
This Studio One collection is is re-issue of his third album for Coxsone Dodd which was released in 1972. This cd however includes material not previously available. Before that Coxsone had already released the albums 'Mr. Rock Steady' (1967) and 'More Of Ken Boothe' (1969). The tracks gathered here span the ska, rock steady and early reggae eras. There are cuts from the Soul Brothers, Soul Vendors, Skatalites and Sound Dimension bands, among others.
Featured here are the hit tunes Artibella, Thinking, Moving Away, You're No Good, The Train Is Coming and the wonderful Without Love. The latter was covered by Leroy Smart in the early 70s for Channel One. Moving Away and Thinking got versioned throughout the years. Present here are three duets with the late great Delroy Wilson, a singer who also recorded numerous tunes for Coxsone Dodd. Won't You Come Home is an enduring Sound Dimension riddim that has been versioned over the years and voiced by artists as disperate as Max Romeo, Charlie Chaplin and Bim Sherman. Producer Bobby Digital even released an one riddim album over this riddim in the 90s. The cd closes with an extended version of this song put together by Heartbeat's Chris Wilson who utlises the original track and Ken Boothe's backing vocals with Delroy's lead vocal from the 1984 remake.
Great vintage stuff...check out these originals !!