A New Day
VP Records-Walboomers Music
30 - 04 - 2001

Track list
  1. No Night In Zion
  2. Oh Father I Love Thee
  3. Is There A Place
  4. Happy People
  5. Road Of Life
  6. Nah Give Up
  7. God Is My Friend
  8. Only A Fool
  9. Traveler
  10. African Skies
  11. A New Day
  12. Hardcore
  13. Spring Summer
  14. God & King
  15. Tell Me Why
  16. Save The World
  17. Journey
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
It's obvious that Luciano fans and contemporary roots reggae devotees are being well served, 'cause barely has the dust settled from his solid Jet Star release "Great Controversy", than we are treated to another brandnew album from the one who is hailed as "The Messenger". VP Records have unleashed "A New Day", Luciano's second album for the year 2001, which is mainly produced by Dean "Cannon" Fraser, with additional production work from Sly & Robbie ("Road Of Life"), UK's Stingray crew ("God & King"), Highpower Music's General Lee & Garry Douglas ("Journey") and Luciano himself ("Nah Give Up"). The album features 17 tracks from one of the finest voices of modern roots music with only "Nah Give Up", "God & King" and "Journey" previously issued as 7" singles.
Luciano, who has built an international fan base over the past six years or so due to his distinctive voice and soulful phrasing, which came to full expression on "Xterminator" produced anthems like "It's Me Again Jah", "Lord, Give I Strength", "Never Give Up My Pride" and, of course, "Messenger", has finally managed to settle comfortably since his departure from the Xterminator camp some time ago. His again teaming up with Dean Fraser, his musical director during his Xterminator" days, proves to be a good move as "A New Day" shows Luciano in top form. All those who have doubted if Luciano could maintain his status as one of the leading artists in today's reggae music scene once his association with Xterminator's Phillip "Fatis" Burrell came to an end should check out this album. Then one has to admit that there is little sign of a drop in quality in the majority of Luciano's output or in his commitment to his uncomplicated message.
All songs on "A New Day" contain uplifting and positive messages, delivered over strong "live" played backing tracks, actually a mixture of mainly fresh originals and a few revitalized classic riddims like for example Dennis Brown's "Hold On To What You Got", Bob Marley's "Thank You Lord" and Jackie Mittoo's "A Darker Shade Of Black". The album opens with the nyabinghi flavoured "No Night In Zion", a strong spiritual track. From there the listener is taken on a musical journey which includes many enjoyable and entertaining moments. Musically spoken one experiences such varied influences as Jazz, Soul, Pop, Gospel and of course traditional Roots Reggae. Too many highlights to mention, but as we have to point out some we certainly have to include "Road Of Life", "Nah Give Up", "Traveler", "African Skies", "Spring Summer", "God & King" and last but not least Luciano's tribute to the sorely missed "Crownprince of Reggae" Dennis "Emmanuel" Brown entitled "Oh Father I Love Thee". And also Luciano's beautiful rendition of Marvin Gaye's classic "God Is My Friend" is well worth mentioning.
"A New Day" is an excellent album from an artist who unmistakably confirms that he still can be regarded as "a bright light on today's reggae music scene for his personal and musical philosophy".