Anthony John
Fly Roots Productions
March 5, 2010

Track list
  1. Intro- Come Together (Acoustic)
  2. Roots John
  3. Dem A Fight
  4. Strive
  5. Meditate No War
  6. Solitaire
  7. Haile Selassie
  8. Panic
  9. Creation
  10. How Could You
  11. Working For Better
  12. Dance And Sing
  13. Musical Fire
  14. Outro- Book Of Life (Acoustic)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Anthony John a.k.a. Mr. Music was born on the 5th of July 1969 in St.Ann Jamaica under the name of Clarence Anthony Mitchell. He started his career in Kingston on soundsystems with his musical friend still unknown at that time Buju Banton before with "In The Spot Light" on the label "I and I Sound" marking the start of his recording career. In 1996, his first album was released, "Do Good" on the US "Bold Gold" label and "Burning Fire Of Love" was chosen on the OST of the movie "Hunter Fire Man". This all led to attention of several Jamacain labels resulting in the release of "Woman Gone Left You" and "Warning" on Donovan Germain's Penthouse Records. In 2003 "Don't Cry No More” his DJ version of “Shush Shush Charlotte” appeared on Serge Gainsbourg's double album "Mauvaises Nouvelles des Etoiles - Dub Style" suddenly made Anthony John's name well known by a large French audience.

2003 also was the year Anthony John arrived in London to record several tunes and release a second album called "Won't Loose Track", but he returned for a year to Jamaica before relocating to France in 2007. He started recording several tunes for various European labels, before establishing his own label Fly Roots Productions together with his wife Sista Edmee Mitchell on which this third album "Creation" is released now. Despite his beautiful voice Anthony John is in Europe still almost unknown outside the French reggaescene and the scene of UK roots followers - he sang the excellent "Just Can't Hide" over female UK reggaeband Sista (Women In Reggae) 's 'Blessings'-riddim in 2002 and the beautifully sung "Mi Bad" across the 'Punk'-riddim for Spider Web Records in 2001.

But now Anthony John kicks off his third album "Creation" with the "Intro - Come Together (Acoustic)" followed by "Roots John" (incorporating at times the flow of the always popular "Fit Mi Haffi Fit"-flow by Junior Reid's Black Uhuru) across the 'Bread Fruit'-riddim laid and produced by R. 'Sherkhan' Chiffre on which he created a second tune appearing on the together with his wife Sista Edmee & U 'Buck' Balfour produced one riddim album. The beautiful conscious dubby "Dem A Fight" for Junior Powell's Supatech Records then precedes the superb UK-roots of "Strive" across the 'Livication'-riddim for Steve Vibronics and the wonderful "Meditate No War" for Preacher Works and the biggest surprise of this album, "Solitaire", a 100% roots tune over the 'Axel F.'-riddim adapted roots style for Sound Proof Records.

The very nice "Haile Selassie" is followed by the extremely impressive "Panic" about the chaos in London, self penned and self acoustic produced to maximum effect and the title track "Creation" recorded in 2003 for Steve Mosco's Jah Warrior Records over the 'Creation'-riddim. The nice lovers duet "How Could You" comes before "Working For Better" for Spider Web Records for whom he recorded the earlier mentioned "Mi Bad" as well and the magnificent upful combination "Dance And Sing" alongside Lutan Fyah for Stargate and soca-tinged "Musical Fire" for DJ Maggic's Street Vibes UK label. This absolutely impressive album with a very high entertainment value from a strong singer over more than solid roots backings is closed with the acoustic "Outro - Book Of Life (Acoustic)" and definitely is worth checking out.