Anything For You
Freddie McGregor
VP Records - Walboomers Music
17 - 06 - 2002

Track list
  1. Loving Jah
  2. Uncle Sam
  3. For You
  4. Gatepass To Your Heart
  5. Oh Ah La La
  6. Prayer For Two
  7. Thereís A Reward For Me
  8. Cover For Me
  9. Sweet African Princess
  10. Hold Me
  11. Enough Loving Me
  12. Iíll Do Anything
  13. If You Want Me
  14. In The Ghetto
  15. Get It On*
  16. A Prayer
  17. Thereís A Reward (featuring Capuccino)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5
Freddie McGregor is one of the most popular reggae artists. He started out at the tender age of 7 as the protege of Clement 'Coxsone' Dodd who he often refers to as his surrogate father. From the inspiration of The Stylistics, The Spinners and The O'Jays, among others, he concentrated on vocal stylisation, quickly making a name for himself. His first releases were 'Why Did You Do It", Do Good And Good Will Follow You' and 'After Laughter'. It was the harmony trio, The Clarendonians that he was to attract a rabid following. He spent the early 70s as the lead vocalist for the popular Jamaican showband 'Generation Gap'. When he teamed up with Earl Chinna Smith he scored with several hit singles with a strong roots consciousness including "Sgt. Brown", "Mark Of The Beast" and "Natural Collie". His debut album 'Freddie McGregor' showcased a burgeoning environmental awareness in such tracks as "Zion Chant", "Rastaman Camp" and "Walls Of Jericho". By 1980 he also took up arranging and producing. During the eighties his popularity increased with albums like "Big Ship", "Come On Over", "Bobby Bobylon", "Love At First Sight", "I Am Ready" and "All In The Same Boat". In the nineties he was established as a senior reggae statesman, cutting three albums -Jamaican Classics Vols. 1, 2 and 3- on which he offers his interpretations of reggae standards such as Little Roy's "Prophecy" and Derrick Harriot's 'The Loser' retitled "I Was Born A Winner". In 1993 he narrowly missed the UK charts with his solid interpretation of Justin Hinds' 'Carry Go Bring Come'. He had huge success in the reggae charts with his production of Luciano's 'Shake It Up Tonight' sung over the riddim used for his own "Seek & You Will Find". Freddie has come up through the ranks of reggae alongside veterans like Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, and Bob Marley. Multi-talented as a singer, songwriter, arranger and producer Freddie McGregor truly has taken his abilities worldwide.
Freddie's new album "Anything For You" contains 17 superflowing tracks. He's blessed with a great voice, writes good lyrics and uses some excellent bubbling riddims. The album is made up of recent hit singles such as Loving Jah, Gatepass To Your Heart and Uncle Sam and newly recorded loverís rock, inspirational and R&B influenced tunes. The mood is varied with mellow grooves, classic Ďone-dropí riddims and lots of smooth soulful singing that is the Freddie McGregor trademark. The album is certainly aimed at the more mature reggae lover, who loves the superb vocal delivery of Freddie. The album has excellent production quality with producers on board like Freddie McGregor, Dean Fraser, C & R McLeod for Stingray Productions, Mr. Doo for Supa Doo Productions, Lloyd and Michelle Campbell for Joe Frasier Productions.
Freddie can't go wrong....check this album !