The Transition
Andre Prehay
Flaming Larynx Production
February 4, 2012

The Transition - Andre Prehay Track list
  1. Dangerous
  2. Education Needed feat. Promoe
  3. Whole Heapa Love
  4. Emergency Call (Interlude)
  5. The Sacred Plant
  6. Life
  7. Her Wish feat. Julie Lange
  8. Under Guitar
  9. In The Hurricane
  10. Money's World feat. Kelli Douglas
  11. Turn Up The Music
  12. Party So Well
  13. The Vision
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Born in Kingston, Jamaica on June 9th, 1982, Andre Prehay fell in love with music at a very early age. At the age of nine, Andre wrote his first song 'Three Little Black Birds'. Six years later, he recorded and produced a collaboration 'Keep Burning the Fire' featuring fellow musicians Indecka and Ovadosa. He migrated to Dallas, Texas, where he currently finished up his first full length self-produced album titled 'The Transition'.

The 13 track set displays a variety of styles. The album kicks off slowly with Dangerous, a conscious tune in ballad style, with nice backing vocals by Julie Lange. You'll be treated to ska fueled sounds when spinning Education Needed. It's a fine tune and it features Swedish hip hop artists Promoe. Whole Heappa Love is dominated by Taylor Tatsch's guitar riffs, an intriguing song! The Sacred Plant is not our cup of tea, but Life, which was released as a single, sees Andre performing a solid reggae groove. The pace goes down with Her Wish, a non reggae tune with a mystical touch.

We couldn't appreciate Under Guitar a tune with too many rock influences. In The Hurricane fails to make a decent impression, but Money's World sounds a lot better and features Kelli Douglas. Turn Up the Music is a bouncing reggae tune, well worth spinning several times. The song Party So Well comes with nuff dancehall injections, while The Vision, a weak effort, closes the album.

This album contains a few worthy songs, but as a whole it lacks the balance and consistency to impress.

Buy the CD