At The Control Dubwise
Mikey Dread
April 24, 2007

Mikey Dread - Mikey Dread Dubwise Track list
  1. Go Go Girls
  2. Headline News
  3. Fast Forward Dub
  4. Props Man Style
  5. Comic Strip
  6. International Field Marshall
  7. Fisherman's Forecast
  8. Assistant Director
  9. Kasha Herb Rock
  10. Master Mantrol
  11. Floor Manager's Theme
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Mikey Dread's solo recordings started in 1976, actually the same year he started to gain notoriety as a young DJ and audio engineer with his four-hour Saturday night "Dread At The Controls" show for the Jamaica Broadcasting Corporation (JBC). Mikey Dread (real name Michael Campbell) cut his first 45s for Lee "Scratch" Perry and imaginative singles followed for Sonia Pottinger, Joe Gibbs and underrated producer Carlton Patterson. The latter was also instrumental in helping Mikey Dread begin his career as producer, which enabled him to produce some of the freshest sounding records in the late 70s/early 80s, recording himself as a deejay, as well as hard roots singers like Rod Taylor, Edi Fitzroy, Earl 16 and Junior Murvin, to name a few. The dub sides, and version sides like "Internal Energy", "Robbers Roost", "Parrot Jungle" and "African Anthem" made people buying the records also for their dubs, and that hadn't happened since King Tubby's heydays with Bunny Lee a couple of years previously.

After some thirty years Mikey Dread re-releases his superlative classic 1979 dub set "At The Control Dubwise". We're sure that his fans, as well as the avid vintage dubheads all over the world, will be very pleased with this cd. Finally we are able to hear the wicked dub sounds in digital clarity. Most tunes have intro shouts and the drum and bass explosions are mixed with creepy horror sounds, snippets of chicken calls, church bells and whatever that came into his mind. It has been said before, his style is unique, although some tunes remind us of the Joe Gibbs produced "African Chapter" albums, but that's not a disqualification at all.

The music here was recorded and mixed at Channel One with the tough but musical riddims laid by some of the best musicians of the time including Sly Dunbar, Horsemouth Wallace, Santa Davis, Robbie Shakespeare, Ranchie McLean, Earl 'Bagga' Walker, Dougie Bryan, Bo-Peep Bowen, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Franklyn "Bubbler" Waul, Augustus Pablo, Ansel Collins, Gladdy Anderson and horns by Vin Gordon and Deadly Headly.

...Play Dubwise Selection Without Objection!