Fresh Start EP
Bryan Art
Junction File
Digital Release
September 9, 2014

Track list
  1. Fresh Start
  2. Knowledge Is The Power
  3. Dance Haffi Nice
  4. Murder Dem A Play feat. Queen Ifrica & Sizzla
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Bryan Art's 2010 released 16-track debut "20Ten" set, which three years later more or less got a self-titled re-issue via Al.Ta.Fa.An Records, showed that this former guitarist of the Firehouse Crew and co-founder/bandleader of Bushman's Grass Roots band is a major talent. However, despite coming up with tunes worth hearing and showing nuff potential as a singer and songwriter (he also wrote songs for Etana, Luciano and George Nooks), the husky voiced singer hasn't managed to achieve a giant breakthrough yet.

Now Bryan Art returns with a digitally released 4-track EP on his own Junction File imprint. Things get started with "Fresh Start", the dynamic title track of this EP which is a solid uptempo song underpinned by a fresh original riddim. And then it's time for the standout track of this collection to drop in. "Knowledge Is The Power" is a great conscious tune across the "Declaration Of Rights" riddim, which is driven by an awesome bassline. We can play this tune over and over again without signs of boredom coming in. Boom tune!! "Dance Haffi Nice" isn't bad at all, but we've heard these kinda tunes far too often to get really excited. After the solo piece of "Murder Dem A Play" and then the collaboration with the divine Queen Ifrica, we're now treated to the third version of this strong song which comes across a remake of Horace Andy's "Skylarking" riddim. Bryan Art and Queen Ifrica are joined by Sizzla, whose contribution adds to the vibes.

We'll have to wait for a next full length album, but for the time being it's nice to have this EP around.