Babylon Nightmare
Jahdan Blakkamoore
Lustre Kings
December 31, 2010

Babylon Nightmare - Jahdan Blakkamoore Track list
  1. We Won't Break
  2. All Comes Back To One
  3. Flying High
  4. Soul Survivor feat. Princess Menen
  5. Down In The Ghetto
  6. Dim View Of The World
  7. Songs Of Love
  8. All Over The World
  9. Highest Region
  10. Red Hot
  11. Against All Odds feat. Noble Society
  12. Right Way
  13. Mountains To Climb
  14. Proverbs Remix
  15. Long Road
  16. Are You Ready?
  17. Rewind
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 19-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 24
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
If you regard yourself as a reggae purist than it's better not to continue reading this review of Jahdan Blakkamoore's sophomore solo album "Babylon Nightmare", because this collection of tunes definitely ain't your cup of tea. However read on if you're a music lover with an open mind and ear for all kinda forms of well produced reggae music.

Jahdan Blakkamoore's career goes all the way back to the late '90s when he was just Jahdan. Born in Guyana, Jahdan Blakkamoore moved to Brooklyn NY as a teenager and quickly immersed himself in the rugged hip hop culture that was thriving at the time. First coming to the attention of hip hop fans for his collaborations with the likes of DJ Premier, Boot Camp Click and Dead Prez, he also became known to reggae and roots fans with his own band, the futuristic reggae crew Noble Society, collaborating with Lutan Fyah, Norris Man and others. In 2009 he found a whole new audience when he contributed to "Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do", the debut album from Diplo and Switch's dancehall project Major Lazer.

With his concept album "Babylon Nightmare", Jahdan Blakkamoore outmatches his 2009 released "Buzzrock Warrior", a collection of tunes that earned the same accolade as 2008's "Take Charge" set, which he recorded with Noble Society. Throughout the entire album Jahdan Blakkamoore shows that he's not only a great lyricist with a knack for writing pointed lyrics, but that he's also a versatile and powerful vocalist who seemingly effortless switches from singing to singjaying and deejaying. For any fan of reggae music it's simply a joy to listen to the tracks that stay very close to the modern roots style like e.g. the awesome "Flying High" (first heard on I Grade's "Joyful Noise" compilation), the wonderful "Dim View Of The World", the worthy "Songs Of Love" across the "Pura Vida" riddim (known from "Pure Life", the opener of Pressure's "Coming Back For You" album), the outstanding "Mountains To Climb" on Bobby Konders' huge "Kingdom" riddim, the beautiful "Long Road" and the solid "Are You Ready?". Besides that this set also includes tracks that meld hip hop with reggae, however done in such a way that it never sounds forced as is often the case when Jamaican producers try to do the same. Best efforts are "We Won't Break", "All Over The World", "Right Way", "Proverbs Remix", and the single "All Comes Back To One".

The use of 'live' instruments, including very nice sounding horns, and the flawless production works of people like Andrew "Moon" Bain, Nick Fantastic and I Grade's Laurent "Tippy" Alfred, along with the aforementioned exceptional skills and talent of Jahdan Blakkamoore, make "Babylon Nightmare" a truly worthwhile project to purchase.