Babylon 9/11: Tip Of The Iceberg
Michael Rose
Love Injection
February 14 - 2005

Track list
  1. Kinky King
  2. Too Blessed
  3. Israel
  4. It Never Rains
  5. Porus
  6. Why
  7. Satan In the Valley
  8. Never Lose Yourself
  9. Babylon 9/11
  10. Worries
  11. Sister
  12. What You Running Down
  13. Careless Life
  14. A Good Thing
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Many older reggae fans will remember Michael Rose as the front man for the third, and most successful line-up of Black Uhuru, with whom he won Grammy Award for the album "Anthem". In the mid-80s he left the group to pursue a solo career and in the next two decades he delivered approximately fifteen albums. Some of these albums were real good efforts, whilst others didn't live up to expectations and thus were disappointing releases. His brand new set is build around the recent Love Injection 7" single "Babylon 9/11" and features the musical talents of Sly & Robbie, Robbie Lyn, Franklin 'Bubblers' Waul, Mikey Chung, Chris Birch, Clive Hunt, Dalton Brownie, Wayne 'Chalice' Armond, Cat Coore, Dwight Pinkney, Dean Fraser, Nambo Robinson, Bongo Herman, Sky Juice and others. "Babylon 9/11: Tip Of The Iceberg" finds the singer pitting his lyrical themes against a backdrop of fresh originals and reworked vintage riddims, produced in Jamaica at Mixing Lab, Kariang, Tree Top and Stephen Stanley Studios. Not much of his hackneyed "Tu tui tweng" vocal mannerisms to be found here - and that isn't a minus we would say. Michael Rose delivers well-crafted tunes, and the vocals are just good. From beginning to end we're treated to mostly solid tracks, and occasionally you'll also come across a real highlight like for example "Kinky King", "Porus", "Satan In The Valley" and "Careless Life".
With this release Michael Rose shows that he's still able to deliver a solid album.