Backyard Boogie
J Boog
Wash House Music
October 8, 2011

Backyard Boogie - J Boog Track list
  1. Give Thanks
  2. Watch and Learn feat. Jacob Hemphill
  3. Hawaiian Pakalolo feat. Jah Maoli & Spawn Breezie
  4. She Give Me Lovin' feat. Tarrus Riley
  5. Mystery
  6. Sunshine Girl feat. Peetah Morgan
  7. Let Me Know
  8. Replay feat. Million Stylez
  9. Angel
  10. Let's Do It Again
  11. Take It Slow
  12. Crazy
  13. Wolves
  14. Waste Of Time
  15. Let It Blaze
  16. Every Little Thing feat. Fiji
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 29-
Very Good -Votes: 10-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 2-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 46
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
J Boog first attracted our atttention with his TN'T produced single "So Far Gone" for the Special Delivery Music label. However it was his huge effort on Don Corleon's "Major" riddim called "Let's Do It Again" that made us realise that this singer of Samoan descent was an up-and-coming artist who could easily earn himself a place in the forefront of the current reggae scene. And that's exactly what he has proven with the release of his sophomore album "Backyard Boogie", the follow-up to his 2007 released debut set "Hear Me Roar". Within two weeks after its release, J Boog's new album became the #1 Billboard Reggae Album. Furthermore it also debuted at #18 on Billboard's Heatseekers Charts, at #1 on iTunes Digital Reggae Charts and at #2 on Amazon Digital Reggae & World Charts.

On "Backyard Boogie", J Boog treats the listener to compelling reggae tracks, appealing lovers tunes and a few fine collaborations. The album opens with "Give Thanks", which could have been a Morgan Heritage tune as it is strongly reminiscent of the works we know from the (defunct?!) Royal Family of Reggae. Not really surprising as J Boog met Gramps Morgan in 2008 and started working with him in Jamaica. Also the single "Sunshine Girl", a light-hearted Ska fueled tune done in combination with Peetah Morgan, is the result of J Boog's collaboration with Gramps Morgan. And the upful reggae vibes keep on flowing with "Watch And Learn", the first combination tune on the tracklist of this collection featuring Jacob Hemphill from US reggae band SOJA. It followed by two other worthwhile combinations, firstly the wicked herb song "Hawaiian Pakalolo" on the "Taxi" aka "Peanut Vendor" riddim with guest vocalists Jah Maoli & Spawn Breezie, and secondly the infectious lovers piece with Tarrus Riley entitled "She Give Me Lovin'". The latter, produced by Gramps Morgan, sounds very familiar to our ears, but we simply can't put a finger on it.

With "She Give Me Lovin'", the mood and vibe changes. This song and then the poppy "Mystery", the joyful "Sunshine Girl", and the Shane Brown produced "Let Me Know" across Juke Boxx Records' "Sweet Wata" riddim, sees J Boog focusing on the lovers side of things. And he continues to do so with the dancehall vibed "Replay", fir which he teamed up with Million Stylez, the smooth "Angel", the sweet "Take It Slow", the acoustic "Crazy", and, of course, his breakthrough hit "Let's Do It Again". No shortage of tunes that will certainly please those who are in a romantic mood, we would say. The final tracks of this album includes the hard-hitting modern roots tune "Wolves". It's a real big tune across an awesome riddim, which ends in wicked dubbed up stylee. "Let It Blaze" is the second herb song featured on this album, and again it's a piece worth hearing. Both, the solid "Waste Of Time" and the combination with Fiji, "Every Little Thing", are also nice efforts.

Overall J Boog's "Backyard Boogie" makes a good impression. Probably one of the best albums of 2011!