Roots & Culture
Barry Brown
Coxsone Records

Track list
Side 1.

  1. Far East
  2. Blazing Fire
  3. Let's Unite
  4. Give Me Your Love
  5. Sweet Music
  6. The Right Place
  7. Roots And Culture
Side 2.

  1. Give Love A Try
  2. Bad Boys
  3. Children Children
  4. Have You Been Loving Me
  5. She Gwan Some Way
  6. Let The Music Play
  7. Dance Tonight
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Barry Brown, a gentle-voiced roots singer with an intimate, captivating style, is probably best remembered for his hit tune "Far East", one of the classics of modern Jamaican dancehall music. The singer's heydays came when he linked up with Bunny "Striker" Lee. His first release, "Girl You're Always On My Mind", had little impact, but he soon earned international acclaim with his hit tune "Step It Up Youthman", which led to an album of the same name. At the end of the seventies he also cut some real tough roots songs for the Hookim brothers of Channel One, including his signature tune "Far East" across a blinding reinterpretation of the Roland Alphonso instrumental classic, "Jah Shakey". Here you'll find the immortal "Jah Shakey / Rockers Hop" cut "Far East", that Barry Brown recorded for Coxsone Dodd. Riddimwize this "Roots & Culture" set brings us legendary foundation riddims of Studio One like "Jah Shakey", "I'm Just A Guy", "Hot Milk", "Mean Girl", "The Lecturer", "Heptones Gonna Fight", "Run Run", "Throw Me Corn", "Fever" and "Mr Fire Coal Man". Barry Brown presents a very enjoyable collection of lyrics over these old riddims. Besides tunes from the vaults of Studio One like "Far East", "Give Love A Try", "Blazing Fire" and "Let's Unite" this album also includes recently recorded songs such as "Let The Music Play" and "Dance Tonight". A must for all Studio One and Barry Brown fans!