Greatest Hits
B.B. Seaton
Soul Beat / Sprint Records
08 - 03 - 2000

Track list
  1. My Love
  2. Thin Line Between Love And Hate
  3. Born Free
  4. No Good Girl
  5. All The Best
  6. Lean On Me
  7. My Jamaican Girl
  8. One Thing Leads To Another
  9. God Bless Our Love
  10. Just Like A Shelter
  11. Accept My Apology
  12. I'm Aware Of Love
  13. Rainbow Love
  14. Miss My Schooldays
  15. Sweet Caroline
  16. You Can't Get Away
  17. Thinking About You
  18. You've Got Top Be Natural
  19. Lover's Quarrel
  20. The Whole World Is Down On Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
B.B. Seaton is one of the premier song writers in the history of Jamaican music. His career began in the early sixties, growing up listening to US based groups such as The Platters, The Drifters, The Tempations and The Four Tops. In 1961 he teamed up with Delano Stewart and Maurice Roberts to form The Gaylads. They recorded the hit single "Lady With The Red Dress On", on Coxsone Dodd's Studio One label. A series of singles and two albums - 'Soul Beat' and 'Gaylads Sing Folk', followed. In 1972, after ten years of working with companies like Studio One and Tip Top Records, he recorded his first solo hit Accept My Apology. A stream of hits followed, Lean On Me, Thin Line Between Love And Hate, My Jamaican Girl, Born Free and No Good Girl just to name a few. Furthermore he also recorded a string of fine albums.
Throughout his career he has written numerous hit songs for other artists, and in his capacity of A & R at Studio One, Tip Top Records and Beverly Records, he auditioned artists like The Heptones, The Melodians, The Kingstonians, Lloyd Parks, Fred Locks and introduced Jackie Mittoo to Coxsone Dodd at Studio One. He served as executive member and vice president for the Jamaica Federation of Musicians. He received the El Suzie Award as best song writer and the Jamaican Cultural Development Award for pioneering Jamaican music as one of Jamaica's most recognized singers and songwriters.
This album collects twenty of B.B. Seaton's best tracks he recorded during his long lasting career. The album contains a lot of original self penned material like My Love, No Good Girl, My Jamaican Girl, Rainbow Love and Thinking About You. Furthermore B.B. Seaton picked out some of the best US soul and R&B classics to cover in his own distinctive way. One of the best tracks on the album is his rendition of The Persuaders' Thin Line Between Love And Hate. Al Green's God Bless Our Love, Bill Wither's Lean On Me and Jerry Butler's Aware Of Love are more noteworthy covers on the album.
Excellent compilation album !