African Blood (JahSolidRock & Dubshelter Sessions 2010-2015) EP
33 Creations
Digital Release
December 19, 2015

Track list
  1. Rock It
  2. Round Of Applause
  3. Stars & Stripes
  4. Don't Mix
  5. Jealous
  6. African Blood
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
In 2010 and 2011, JahSolidRock from Amsterdam, the Netherlands, released critical acclaimed albums by Chezidek ("Judgement Time"), Apple Gabriel ("Teach The Right") and Earl 16 ("The Fittest"). Involved in the production of these albums were Kenneth Linger aka Benaissa (formerly Kenneth Wise), Marc Baronner and well respected producer/musician/mixing engineer Manu Genius of Not Easy At All Productions/Dubshelter Recordings. Prior to the release of these albums, Benaissa's full length debut album entitled "Tables Turn" was put out by Silver Kamel Audio & JahSolidRock.

During the JahSolidRock recording sessions for the Chezidek, Apple Gabriel and Earl 16 albums, Benaissa recorded a few tunes himself over riddims that were created for these albums. The only song featured on this EP that has been previously released is the title track "African Blood", which appeared on the flipside of Chezidek's 7" single "Walk With Jah". Both tunes were done across the "Collie Weed" riddim, actually the first riddim created by Manu Genius for Not Easy At All Productions and the one that got the ball rollin'. "Rock It", a groovin' lovers tune with a feelgood vibe delivered over the "One Blood" riddim, is an entertaining effort that gets your head nodding. Also the matching "Round Of Applause" touches the lovers theme and with a bit of deejaying added towards the end it's definitely a decent effort.

Then it's time for one of the strongest tunes on this EP to drop in, the message tune "Stars & Stripes" on the "Lift Off" riddim. The riddim (previously used for Earl 16's "Sinner Man") starts with nice acoustic guitar picking, before a wicked bass line gets it really going. Also the horns play a significant role in this backdrop, that underpins a song with lyrical content that keeps you involved. The horns, especially the trombone, also play an important role in "Don't Mix", which is a winner. The riddim is a real killer and the harmonies that accompany Benaissa's vocal delivery sound very good. With "Jealous", not a love song but a tune about envious people, we're treated to another big effort, before the cultural "African Blood" rounds off in great style.

Good to have these Benaissa tunes, which have been on the shelves for quite some time, finally available for the avid reggae fan. Do check this worthy EP, because we're pretty sure you won't be disappointed!!