Beat Beat Beat
Burning Babylon
I Tones/Soundshack Recordings
September 23, 2008

Track list
  1. Sproing-A-Dub
  2. Below The B-Line
  3. Yuh Afi Give Fi Get
  4. Wires To Riot
  5. Djungle
  6. Thumpy Skunkz
  7. Manuka Skank
  8. Basho And The Tiger
  9. Bone Riddim
  10. West End 12
  11. System A Vampire
  12. Rewind Deluxe
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5
Jamaican dub music might be dead and burried (it is ages ago that a noteworthy dub album coming from the Island has been issued), it certainly isn't in other parts of the world as proven by Slade Anderson a.k.a. Burning Babylon out of Boston, Massachusetts.

In the past decade he has been working on his own dub projects -- deeply inspired and influenced by celebrated 1970s dub works of King Tubby, Scientist and Lee "Scratch" Perry -- which led to the release of five, mostly critical acclaimed albums including "Roots Heavy", "Garden Of Dub", "Dub Shack", "Knives To The Treble" and "Stereo Mash Up". With his latest effort entitled "Beat Beat Beat" he adds another worthwhile full length album to his discography.

Like in the heydays of vinyl releases, "Beat Beat Beat" contains 12 tracks and it really shouldn't be more as it often doesn't make sense to fill up a cd with 18 or 20 tracks. The album features a wide variety of riddims including Steppers, One Drop, Ska, and even Version, all of them created with the 'roots of dub' in mind. The drum and the heavy bass beat continue to be the driving force throughout, but on most tracks there's an emphasis on the keyboard reminiscent of the sound of the early 1970s created by for example Lee "Scratch" Perry.

One goes through various moods when listening to the sounds incorporated on this album, but above all it are the positive vibrations that dominate. It makes it a joyful listening experience from beginning to end with tracks such as "Below The B-line", "Wires To Riot", "Manuka Skank", "Rewind Deluxe" and the exceptional "Djungle" urging you to push the repeat button for them. However tomorrow it could be another selection, depending on the mood you're in.

All in all another very entertaining dub collection from Burning Babylon, presented in a well designed package.