The Beauty Of The Sea
Dread Ashanti
Anancy Music

Track list
  1. Come now
  2. Mok's song
  3. Chatty chatty
  4. Hungry lion
  5. You don't love me
  6. Looking for freedom
  7. Beauty of the sea
  8. Lover, lover
  9. Jah light
  10. Mankind is going mental
  11. You don't dub me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
From the beautiful island of Hawai'i comes this Dread Ashanti set (released in 1995), called 'The Beauty Of The Sea'. The horn section is very predominant and the lead vocalist has a mature, bluesy delivery. The music reminds me of Steel Pulse, but doesn't sound dated at all, because the tunes are fully developped. Although most tracks focus on reality themes, the band also feels quite comfortable tackling lovers themes. Outstanding cuts on the album are the epic 'Jah Light' , 'Mok's Song' and the opening track 'Come Now', featuring an horn arrangement, reminding me of several Al Green's classic soul cuts.
I am not sure this is their debut set, but the whole set sounds extremely promising !