Be I Strong
VP Records - Walboomers Music
17 - 11 - 1999

Track list
  1. Men & People
  2. Love Is All
  3. Diamond & Pearl
  4. Bless Bless
  5. Stop The Youth
  6. Live & Learn
  7. Mi King
  8. Be I Strong
  9. The Vibes (featuring Capleton)
  10. Get Lively
  11. No Chance
  12. Live Longer
  13. Powerful
  14. Nah Suffer
  15. Stop Violate
  16. Keep Out A Bad Company
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Hard on the heals of his somewhat disappointing Greensleeves' set "Royal Son Of Ethiopia" from earlier in the year, Sizzla hits hard again with this steaming "Be I Strong" album. Again produced by Phillip "Fatis" Burrell for his own 'Xterminator Productions' this brand new Sizzla album is a well balanced delivery packed with solid reality tunes, including some truly outstanding pieces like the killer roots "Bless Bless", the wicked "Diamond & Pearl" and the appealing "Stop The Youth". Sizzla has some powerful advice, messages and warnings to give the listener as the story unfolds. Lyrically this young Bobo dread is as powerful as ever and also musically spoken he's on a par with some of his better efforts. Besides the fact that Sizzla thus fully lives up to expectations, regarding his status as ace singjay at the cutting edge of revolutionary reggae, one of the striking things of this album is that he has seemingly explored new avenues to create a new sound that is innovated and has special effect as on e.g. "Stop Violate". Sizzla sings "Be I strong, whenever they rise against us" over the same riddim used for the combination song "The Vibes", the first collaboration between Sizzla Kalonji and "The Prophet" Capleton for producer "Fatis" Burrell. With "Be I Strong" Sizzla once again confirms that he is truly a force of nature ! More Sizzla reviews :

Black Woman & Child.
Burning Up
Good Ways
Jet Star Reggae Max
Praise Ye Jah
Royal Son Of Ethiopia
2 Strong (With Anthony B.)
3 Wise Men (With Luciano & Anthony B.)