The Best Of Luciano
VP Records - Walboomers Music
08 - 07 - 2002

Track list
  1. It's Me Again Jah - (live)
  2. Sweep Over My Soul
  3. Lord Give Me Strength
  4. Over The Hills
  5. How Can You - (live)
  6. Where There Is Life
  7. Never Give Up My Pride
  8. Good God
  9. Ulterior Motive
  10. Who Could It Be - (live)
  11. Final Call
  12. Chant Down Babylon
  13. One Way Ticket
  14. Rainy Days
  15. Wicked Haffi Run Wey
  16. Heaven Help Us All
  17. In This Together - (live)
  18. Messenger
  19. Material Girl - (previously unreleased)
  20. Rolling Stone - (previously unreleased)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
The man now called Luciano - which means the bearer of light - was born Jepther Washington McClymont in Davey Town, Jamaica on December 20, 1974. At the age of 17 he made his first recordings for producer Earl Hughes, but it was with Sky High from Mau Mau Productions that he got the opportunity to release his work on an album, although under the name Luciana. His Sky High produced material can be found on two albums: "Stuck On You (a combination album with another young singer called Presley) and "Don't Get Crazy". After working with Sky High he moved on to Castro Brown's "New Name" label before he teamed up with reggae vet Freddie McGregor, which resulted in the release of an album entitled "Shake It Up Tonight" aka "After All".
However, his real breakthrough came when he met "Xterminator" label head and producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell. It was a series of trend-defying "Xterminator" singles that pushed his career in the right direction as they made his name and fame grow. It actually resulted in the release of his first "Xterminator" album "Moving Up". In the years that followed Luciano rose to the top and undoubtedly became one of the major forces in developing modern cultural music. His distinctive voice and soulful phrasing, came to full expression on "Xterminator" produced anthems like It's Me Again Jah, here presented as a live performance, Lord, Give I Strength, Never Give Up My Pride and, of course, Messenger. Luciano's associaton with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell and musicians like Sly & Robbie, The Firehouse Crew and Dean Fraser played an important role in Luciano's stages of development, which ultimately led to his signing with Island-Jamaica and the release of numerous quality singles and some acclaimed albums. This compilation focuses on his tunes he did for Phillip "Fatis" Burrell and includes two previously unreleased tracks and some of his best efforts he released over the years. With quality written all over, it's impossible to point out highlights. Listening to this album one can pick his own favorite tunes.
Fans of his work may not find this compilation necessary, but anyone looking to give a first listen (are there any ??) to one of reggae's biggest names should try to give this a listen.