Reggae $aver$ ~ The Best Of Gregory Isaacs Volume 1
Gregory Isaacs

Track list
  1. Special Guest
  2. Willow Tree
  3. Breaking Up
  4. Double Attack
  5. My Number One
  6. No Speech
  7. Tear Drops
  8. Cool You
  9. Freedom
  10. Look Before You Leap
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
"Reggae $aver$" is a series of album reissues from the U.S.-based Heartbeat label which includes "The Best Of Gregory Isaacs Volumes 1 & 2", previously available on one CD and now released as two seperate discs (as were the original vinyl releases on "GG Records").
Although often regarded as a singer who was suited to love songs - which brought him the nickname "the lonely lover" - he also proved that his vocal approach was equally suited to expressions of the sufferer's lot. These both sides of Gregory Isaacs can be captured on this excellent Alvin Ranglin produced album, which collects a couple of hit singles and other strong material from the period - the second half of the seventies - when Gregory Isaacs was the number one singer in the reggae world. Although the title may cause some confusion as it isn't the compilation of greatest hits that one might expect, it consists of fresh material Gregory Isaacs recorded at Channel One. Featuring the then-fashionable "rockers" style of the Revolutionaries and top notch vocal performances of Gregory Isaacs this - as well as its companion set "The Best Of Gregory Isaacs Volume 2" - is definitely an album well worth checking out !