Can't Stop A Man (The Ultimate Collection)
Beres Hammond
VP Records-Walboomers Music
2 CD
December 22, 2003

Track list
Disc One

  1. One Step Ahead
  2. I'm So In Love
  3. Last War with Zap Pow
  4. Groovy Little Thing
  5. What One Dance Can Do
  6. She Loves Me Now
  7. Tempted To Touch
  8. Puting up Resistance with U Roy
  9. Come Back Home
  10. Full Attention
  11. Who Say with Buju Banton
  12. Live On with Marcia Griffiths
  13. Double Trouble
  14. Step Aside
  15. Love Means Never To Say You're Sorry
  16. Show It Off
  17. Doctor's Orders
  18. My Wish
  19. Sweetness
  20. Sugar You Want
Disc Two

  1. Preacher Man
  2. Left Me Crying
  3. I Could Beat Myself
  4. No Disturb Sign
  5. Can't Stop A Man
  6. Love From A Distance
  7. Sweet Lies
  8. Call On The Father
  9. Warriors Don't Cry
  10. Queen & Lady
  11. Hold On
  12. Can You Play Some More with Buju Banton
  13. They Gonna Talk
  14. Rockaway
  15. Ain't It Good To Know with Buju Banton
  16. Come Down Father
  17. Ain't That Loving You with U Roy
  18. Good Old Dancehall Vibes with Big Youth
  19. Give Thanks (Live)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Lavish greatest hits package from VP Records celebrating reggae's greatest living vocalist Hugh Beresford Hammond, a man equally at home singing soothing lovers, dancehall ballads, reality songs and classic modern roots. Beres Hammond has garnered an international fan base and consistently delivered current hits for 30 years and counting. Widely regarded as Jamaica’s most prolific crooner, his track record of hit songs is unprecedented in reggae. There are few reggae singers whose career would contain so many hits; Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, maybe Luciano.

If you’re a fan you’re probably familiar with all the tracks included here, nevertheless this deluxe package is a wonderful way to hold them all in one place. Selections range from romantic ballads to songs of spiritual praise, to the big dancehall tunes and the combinations with Buju Banton and veterans Marcia Griffiths, U Roy and Big Youth. This set is packed with superb songs, all displaying Beres' beautiful "whiskey grained" vocal delivery atop of impeccable riddims. The latter include originals as well as reworkings of classic backdrops such as the Wailing Souls' "Back Out/Tings & Time" ("Can You Play Some More"), The Heptones' "Get In The Groove" ("Ain't It Good To Know"), Sound Dimension's "Real Rock" ("I Could Beat Myself"), Slim Smith's "My Conversation" ("Sweetness") and John Holt's "A Love I Can Feel" ("Tempted To Touch"). Production credits are awarded to Joe Gibbs, Willie Lindo, Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, Steely & Clevie, Donovan Germain, Richard Bell and Beres Hammond himself.
If you've yet to truly penetrate the Beres Hamond's oeuvre, then it goes without saying that this set is simply essential!