Big Leaders Dub
Vivian Jones
Imperial House

Track list
Side 1.

  1. New Trade
  2. Shakey Ground
  3. Aids In Africa
  4. Africa
  5. Money
  6. Gimme More
Side 2.

  1. Big Leaders
  2. Schooling
  3. Crucial
  4. The Gun
  5. Tearup Dress
  6. Serve Thee
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The very talented Vivian Jones made his first records (including the recently re-issued monumental 12" single "Who's Gonna Get Caught") in those far off days and since then has established a long and fruitful career as a reggae vocalist. He's an expressive singer with a warm and soulful voice, who's been charting big in England with tunes such as "Good Morning", "Strong Love", "Sugar Love", "Let's Go Again", "Very Thought Of You" and "Love Is For Lovers". Due to the fact that he always scored big with tunes that dealt with matters of the heart he became one of the UK's top lovers rock performers. When he started to record roots material for the likes of Jah Shaka he also made his reputation as a fine roots singer. This all proved that he was equally at home on love songs as on heavyweight roots pieces. Some years ago he teamed up with Wooligan and they recorded the beautiful cultural tune "Jah See Dem A Come", which became a top 10 hit in the reggae charts worldwide. Now they've joined forces once again and the first result is the album "Big Leaders Dub", issued on Vivian Jones' own Imperial House label. Recorded and mixed at Wooligan's Mindsearchers Studio in Birmingham, UK, this vinyl only dub companion to Vivian Jones' new album "Big Leaders" will certainly please those who hanker after the heydays of Dennis Bovell and Misty In Roots. All tracks on this dub set are expertly mixed and incorporate lots of nice little touches. The music is beautifully performed and has an optimistic feel, although titles like for example "Aids In Africa", "Schooling" and The Gun indicate otherwise. Even if you're not a dubhead this set will keep you involved till the very end as you're treated to often high melodic dub music. Great album, well worth checking out!!