Black, Gold & Green
Third World
I Sound/Nocturne-Munich
March 20, 2006

Track list
  1. Nah Sweat
  2. Lovers In A Dangerous Time
  3. Fade Away feat. Mike & Rike (Sensemilia)
  4. Butterflies And Rain
  5. Black Gold & Green
  6. Revolution In Her Eyes
  7. Runaround
  8. Rise Up
  9. Love In The Air feat. Beres Hammond
  10. Writings On The Wall feat. Wayne Marshall
  11. There's A Reward
  12. Solid feat. Blue Fox
  13. Touch The Road feat. Wayne Marshall
  14. Fade Away (Original Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Third World is the longest-running self-contained reggae band in the world and one of Jamaica's most consistently popular crossover acts among international audiences. Since the year 1973, when Third World was founded by guitarist, cellist and singer Stephen 'Cat' Coore and keyboardist Michael "Ibo" Cooper, the band has developed its musical style from authentic roots reggae to a more polished pop-reggae sound in order to take the music to a wider audience.

In the second half of the 1970s they scored huge international (crossover) hits with tunes like "96 In The Shade", "Now That We Found Love" and "Cool Meditation". The band's success continued on through the 1980s with hit tunes like the Stevie Wonder written "Try Jah Love", "Reggae Radio Station" and "Forbidden Love". However, the fact that the bulk of their musical outings were overly beholden to commercial concerns didn't make them very popular among reggae purists, who often qualify their music as 'garbage'. From their point of view to understand, although it probably won't apply to the band's musicianship and trademark harmony vocals which are of real good quality.

Their latest album "Black, Gold & Green" (which refers to the colors of Jamaican flag) contains the usual kinda musical efforts one can expect from Third World; mostly original material incorporating Reggae, R'n'B, Rock and Funk. All in all this album isn't a bad one, actually it's one of the band's best collection of tunes in a long time. Featuring guest vocalists like Beres Hammond, Wayne Marshall and Blue Fox, this set includes a few truly fine and appealing efforts including the combination tune with Beres entitled "Love Is In The Air", their well done cover of Bruce Cockburn's "Lovers In A Dangerous Time", the uplifting "Rise Up", "Revolution In Her Eyes" and the title track "Black, Gold & Green".