Zamani Records
October 25, 2002

Track list
  1. Interview pt 1
  2. Victory Dance
  3. Come Alive
  4. Missing You
  5. It Takes You
  6. Interview pt 2
  7. Talk Is Cheap
  8. Mama
  9. My Love Is Legit
  10. Interview pt 3
  11. Serious Business
  12. A Brother In You
  13. Natural Woman
  14. Cool Down
  15. The System Want Blood
  16. Poverty's A Burden
  17. Conscience And Awake
  18. Interview pt 4
  19. Ain't No Stopping Us Now
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Born on the beautiful "Isle of Spice", Grenada, Rashani started writing reggae tunes at the tender age of ten. He was heavily influenced by the likes of Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Gregory Isaacs and Burning Spear. In the 80s he relocated to Texas and has worked with several artists such as Half Pint and U Roy. His previous album was entitled "Who's Foolin' Who ?". That album is in memory of the many African people who died in "The Black Holocaust", that was carried out over the years by the mentally sick, against people of color in the four corners of the earth.

Now he comes up with the album "Blacklash". The 15 track album includes 4 interviews with Ima, in which Rashani speaks about his music, beliefs and experiences. The collection of songs offered here include a lot of reality tunes and an occasional love song like My Love Is Legit. Here you will find themes like poverty, friendship, politics and the system. Although not all the tunes are standouts (or even above mediocre), the album contains some fine songs like Cool Down, Poverty's A Burden, Talk Is Cheap and Serious Business. For us the best track is Come Alive.

His unique vocal delivery may take some time before you'll get used to it, but his intentions are pure and honest, and that's what makes this album a noteworthy effort.