Junior Kelly
Penitentiary Records-Walboomers Music

Track list
  1. Real
  2. Cool Nuh
  3. Black
  4. When
  5. Gideon Red
  6. Identify
  7. Ghetto Region
  8. Cover Yourself
  9. Cyaan Run
  10. Eye Beam
  11. Yanki Dollar & Queen's Pounds
  12. Salvation
  13. Take It Easy
  14. Gal Gal
  15. Corner Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In 1999 Junior Kelly emerged on the reggae scene with the hit single "Love So Nice". He soon became one of the most anticipated modern roots artists and released a string of tuff roots singles and some five albums in the following years. Four years after he achieved his international breakthrough Junior Kelly shines on this all new selection from Penitentiary Records. Packed with fifteen, mostly above par cuts this "Bless" set features a wide range of producers including the well respected Firehouse Crew, Massive B's Bobby Konders, C. Banton Nelson of Top Nail Productions, C. Miller, singer/producer Anthony Malvo, David Jones and Desmond Brown, to name a few. Kicking off with "Real", it's immediately apparent that Junior Kelly is once again in fine form. His passionate and powerful vocal delivery - reminiscent of his contemporaries Sizzla and Capleton - is ever present and his lyrics are predominantly conscious and evocative. Riddimwise we're treated to a good deal of fresh originals along with a few resuscitated riddims including Massive B's "The Answer". Among the most memorable modern roots tracks are "Cool Nuh", "Black", "Gideon Red", "Cover Yourself" and "Identify", the latter a wicked combination with Anthony Malvo. More dancehall oriented tracks are "Cyaan Run", "Eye Beam", "Yanki Dollars & Queen's Pound" and "Gal Gal", with only the latter striking false notes in this otherwise very enjoyable release. Truly worth while checking out!