One Love ~ At Studio One 1964-1968
Bob Marley & The Wailers
April 4, 2006

Track list
Disc One :
  1. This Train (Previously Unreleased)
  2. Simmer Down
  3. I Am Going Home
  4. Do You Remember
  5. Mr. Talkative
  6. Habits
  7. Amen
  8. Go Jimmy Go
  9. Teenager In Love
  10. I Need You
  11. It Hurts To Be Alone (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  12. True Confession (Previously Unreleased)
  13. Lonesome Feelings
  14. There She Goes
  15. Diamond Baby
  16. Playboy (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  17. Where's The Girl For Me
  18. Hooligan Ska
  19. One Love
  20. Love And Affection
  21. Tell Them Lord (CD Bonus Track)
Disc Two :
  1. And I Love Her (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  2. Rude Boy
  3. I'm Still Waiting
  4. Ska Jerk
  5. Somewhere To Lay My Head
  6. Wages Of Love Rehearsal (Previously Unreleased)
  7. Wages Of Love
  8. I'm Gonna Put It On (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  9. Cry To Me
  10. Jailhouse
  11. Sinner Man (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
  12. He Who Feels It Knows It
  13. Let Him Go
  14. When The Well Runs Dry
  15. Can't You See
  16. What Am I Supposed To Do
  17. Rolling Stone
  18. Bend Down Low
  19. Freedom Time
  20. Rocking Steady (Previously Unreleased Alternate Take)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The (re-issued) dbl cd "One Love ~ At Studio One 1964-1968" is one of the Heartbeat samplers (the others being "Destiny: Rare Ska Sides From Studio One", "Climb The Ladder", and "Greatest Hits At Studio One"), which contains tunes recorded by the original Wailers at Coxsone Dodd's legendary Studio One. In those days the Wailers consisted of Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, and Bunny Wailer, but also several other members, including Junior Braithwaite (lead vocalist on "Habits" and "It Hurts To Be Alone"), Beverly Kelso, and Constantine Walker -- recruited by Bunny and Peter to fill Bob's place when he went to Delaware in 1966 -- came and went over the course of the 1960s.

During their years with Coxsone Dodd, the Wailers recorded over a hundred tracks for Studio One, Jamaica's premier record label. This dbl cd contains forty of those tracks -- plus one interesting rehearsal -- comprising the first chronological survey of the Wailers' formative years. "One Love ~ At Studio One 1964-1968" gathers the cream of their Studio One output as well as previously unreleased alternate takes and rare Jamaican singles sides. In most cases this material is taken from the original session tapes and is presented without the overdubs found on other collections of this material.

"One Love ~ At Studio One 1964-1968" is essentially a spiffing up of an earlier Heartbeat compilation of the same name, with the bonus track "Tell Them Lord" and greatly improved sound. Of course, not every track delivered by the teenage Wailers is above average, but there's enough material featured here that is worth of hearing.

The Wailers' first single, "Simmer Down", one of the defining tracks of the ska era, remains a a strong effort after all these years. "Jailhouse" appeared under a variety of titles including 'Good Good Rudie' and 'Rudie Boy'. The song was 'answered' by Justin Hinds with 'No Good Rudie' on Duke Reid's Dutchess label. "He Who Feels It Knows It" was called 'Linger You Linger' when it was first available as a blank pre-release and it was the Wailers' initial work on Coxsone's new four-track recorder. The lovers tune "It Hurts To Be Alone" is an unreleased alternate take, with a mellifluous Ernest Ranglin guitar lead lifted from the Impressions' "I'm So Proud".

Don't hesitate to check this one -- i.e. if you haven't bought the set when it was first released in 1991 -- because this solid collection of tunes is a worthwhile purchase for fans of Marley and early reggae alike.