Greatest Hits At Studio One
Bob Marley & The Wailers
April 4 - 2003

Track list
  1. One Love
  2. I'm Gonna Put It On
  3. Simmer Down
  4. Treat Me Good
  5. Who Feels It Knows It
  6. Cry to Me
  7. It Hurts To Be Alone
  8. Dreamland
  9. Let Him Go
  10. Sinner Man
  11. Jailhouse
  12. Love And Affection
  13. Maga Dog
  14. I Am Going Home
  15. I Need You So
  16. I'm Still Waiting
  17. And I Love Her
  18. Sunday Morning
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
Greatest Hits At Studio One collects the band's greatest hits, culled from the over 100 tracks The Wailers recorded at Studio One, features many of their top-selling songs like One Love, Simmer Down, Let Him Go and It Hurts To Be Alone. During the band's collaboration with Coxsone Dodd the Wailers recorded every different kind of music Coxsone requested of them. So the Wailers recorded traditional mento and calypso, gospel, folk, doo wop harmony, soul and pop covers, Christmas songs as well as their own material. They were also often called upon to harmonize with other artists like Lord Brynner, Jackie Opel, Delroy Wilson or Lee Perry.
Also included on the album are many of the group's top requested songs from the Studio One catalog along with alternate versions of some of their popular hits. Included as well is the Lennon-McCartney cover And I Love Here, which was recorded in the spring of 1965. The powerful Bunny Wailer song Dreamland was recorded in 1966 and remained unissued for nearly twenty years before appearing in overdubbed form on the Studio One lp, 'Wailers & Associates'. In the early seventies Lee Perry re-recorded the song with Wailers and Bunny Wailer put out an excellent version of the song on his album 'Sings The Wailers'. Sunday Morning is a plaintive love ballad by Bunny Wailer cut in the summer of 1966 with Peter and Constantine 'Dream' Walker harmonizing beautifully over the rhythm section of the Soul Brothers. Jailhouse appeared under a variety of titles including 'Good Good Rudie' and 'Rudie Boy'. The song was 'answered' by Justin Hinds with "No Good Rudie' on Duke Reid's Dutchess label. Who Feels It Knows It was called 'Linger You Linger' when it was first available as a blank pre-release and it was the Wailers' initial work on Coxsone's new four-track recorder. The lovers tune It Hurts To Be Alone is an unreleased alternate take, with a mellifluous Ernest Ranglin guitar lead lifted from the Impressions' "I'm So Proud".
Involved musicians include Lloyd Knibb, Lloyd Brevett, Dwight Pinkney, Jackie Mittoo, Ernest Ranglin, Tommy Mccook, Roland Alphonso, Don Drummond, Bobby Ellis and many more. The CD comes with linernotes & track by track notes by Roger Steffens, the co-author of the book 'One Love: My Life with Bob Marley and the Wailers', rare photos and the printing of complete lyrics.