Michael Rose

Track list
  1. Ganja Bonanza
  2. Someone Is Watching
  3. Youths Of The Ghetto
  4. It's Alright
  5. Whoo-La
  6. Give A Little
  7. Ghetto
  8. Jah Jah Never Fail I
  9. We All Need Love
  10. Rock With Somebody
  11. Christian Soldiers
  12. Revolution
  13. Brown Eyes
  14. Bogus Badge
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
With "Bonanza" 'Grammy kid' Michael Rose delivers his first studio album since 1997's "Dance Wicked", although in between the French Backchich record label released an excellent Michael Rose album entitled "Selassie I Showcase", however in most countries only available through import.
His newest 14 track album for Heartbeat Records gathers brand new material as well as some remixed older tunes like "Ganja Bonanza", undoubtedly one of the wickedest "ganja" songs of the nineties. Since his heydays with Black Uhuru Michael Rose is known and loved for the fact that he always writes and sings with a burning intensity. It brought him many faithful fans around the world, fans who won't get disappointed when spending their money on his latest delivery. Crisp production and crossover potential are the keywords when it comes to talking about "Bonanza" as Rose fuses his Jamaican roots with sophisticated American R&B and Dancehall music. And, of course, it is that unique powerful voice that gives this artist the possibility to handle these different musical flavours to full effect. Best tracks include "Youths In The Ghetto", "Whoo-La", Jah Jah Never Fail I" and "Revolution". Also "Chatto", co-written by Heartbeat's Chris Wilson, a tune which contains a dominating solo part of the guitar player at the end, not that usual in reggae music, but in this case rather nicely executed.
"Bonanza" is a fine album of an artist who has managed to stay on top for the last two decades and surely will continue that position in the next millennium.