The Book Of Job
Richie Spice
VP Records
March 11, 2011

Book of Job - Richie Spice Track list
  1. Better Tomorrow
  2. My Life
  3. Confirmation
  4. Mother Of Creation
  5. Black Woman
  6. Serious Woman
  7. Soothing Sound
  8. Legal
  9. Yap Yap
  10. Find Jah
  11. Jah Never Let Us Down
  12. Father
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 20-
Very Good -Votes: 10-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 3-

Total votes : 37
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Richie Spice's new collection of tunes called "The Book Of Job" is the singer's fifth (official) studio album, and his third release on the VP label. His 2004 breakthrough hit "Earth A Run Red" lay untroubled for about five years before the times caught up with it and Richie Spice, along with other newcomers like e.g. Chezidek, Fantan Mojah, I-Wayne and Natural Black, spearheaded the 'one-drop' revolution that saw traditional reggae riddims and conscious lyrics return in the dance halls.

The majority of the tracks featured on "The Book Of Job" -- a title chosen by Richie Spice because of his commitment to creating uplifting music, which is as unwavering as Job's faith was while enduring his many hardships, which can be compared with the trials and tribulations an artist has to go through in the music business -- are produced by acclaimed reggae producer Donovan Germain, while also the talents of producers such as Shane Brown ("Serious Woman" and "Soothing Sound"), Stephen "Lenky" Marsden ("Yap Yap"), and Raging Fyah ("Black Woman") are enlisted.

His previous VP album releases had 15 tunes on their tracklist, while this one features only 12 tracks coming in around 51 minutes plus. Don't regard this as a minus, because there's no need to completely fill up a CD. Some of reggae's best albums featured only 10 tracks!! Richell Bonner, better known as Richie Spice, follows up his 2008 released "Gideon Boot" album with another set stuffed with hits and quality tunes, and again the themes he touches are almost exclusively cultural or socially conscious.

Richie Spice's instantly recognizable vocal style immediately grabs your attention when the beautiful "Better Tomorrow" kicks off the album. It's followed by a worthy reinterpretation of Randy Crawford's "Street Life" called "My Life", which he previously did on the "Chemistry" riddim for producers Ronald "Sunny Spoon" Wright and Collin Edwards. However this new version is far better than the previous one. Next drops one of the biggest tracks around, the outstanding "Confirmation", which is underpinned by the riddim that was used for Romain Virgo's "No Money". It's Richie Spice at his very best.

The decent "Mother Of Creation" is the first tune that pays homage to women, with the others being the solid "Serious Woman" on the "Nylon" riddim and, the first single from the album, the delightful "Black Woman". Musically and vocally "Soothing Sound", coming across Juke Boxx's "Indiscretions" riddim, sounds good to our ears, but lyrically it doesn't have that much to offer. We'd rather prefer to listen to the moving "Legal", a song inspired by the artist's visit to Gorée Island, about three kilometers from the Senegalese city of Dakar, where slaves were kept before being transported to the Caribbean and America. The album is rounded off by a series of three tunes in which he strongly expresses that he's a godly person. It starts with the solid "Find Jah", then the awesome "Jah Never Let Us Down" over the "Automatic" riddim (actually a relick of Studio One's classic "Take A Ride" riddim), before it closes with the somewhat disappointing "Father".

Overall this is thoroughly enjoyable album, fully showing why Richie Spice has managed to become an international staple for reggae fans worldwide.