Book Of Revelation
Mike Brooks
29 - 04 - 2002

Track list
  1. Caught Up In The System
  2. I'm Crying, I'm Crying
  3. Warmth Of Your Smile
  4. Revelation
  5. Voice
  6. No Hope
  7. Disrespect
  8. Live Up Rastaman
  9. Many Are Called
  10. Trust In God
  11. Chant Dem Down
  12. Joyful Noise
  13. Ruff & Road
  14. Ruffa's Dub
  15. Voice Dub
  16. No Hope Dub
  17. Revelation Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4
"Book Of Revelation" is a collection of tunes that Mike Brooks recorded in the past and recent times. He never was a household name in reggae music, although he was quite prolific as a producer. Between 1974 and 1977 he worked with The Revolutionaries and he also produced the Mighty Diamonds' tune 'Shame And Pride'. He has worked with artists like Bim Sherman, Blacka Morwell, Pat Kelly, Gladdy Anderson and Bobby Melody. He only sang a handful of records in 30 years, and there's still a complete album remaining in the vaults. He is also the co-founder of the "Teem label with Jah Lloyd.
This album includes some killer vintage tracks such as Disrespect, which he did for producer Ranking Joe and comes across the Shank I Shek riddim. Live Up Rastaman is typical 70s roots tune, produced by Bunny 'Striker' Lee. For the Channel One imprint he cut the excellent tune Chant Dem Down, a tune he did inna deejay style and that was produced by JoJo Hookim. The Joe Gibbs produced song Joyful Noise is across the 'Get In The Groove' riddim.
The rest of songs here are tunes he recorded in the UK, mostly with Mafia and Fluxy as backing musicians and producers. Two songs he produced with Joseph Cotton are highlights of the album : I'm Crying, I'm Crying and Warmth Of Your Smile. The powerful and dubbed up backing of Mafia and Fluxy matches quite well with the vocal delivery of Mike Brooks. He comes up with good and solid contemporary rootical music. Check out tracks like Revelation, No Hope and Ruff & Road. It's nice to see that they have included some wicked dub versions as well.
Definitely an album worth while checking out !