Born 2 Go High
Special Delivery Music
December 21, 2004

Track list
  1. Suburb Politician
  2. Govt We Live Fe War feat. Singing Melody & Natty King
  3. Gipsy
  4. Someday Someway
  5. Sign No Contract
  6. Jah Rules My World
  7. Life
  8. Don't Be No Foolish feat. MC Jean Gab'1
  9. Born 2 Go High (Higher Level) feat. Chadness & Skuddy
  10. H.J.D.
  11. Lord of All Lords
  12. 7-9
  13. Storm Is Coming Our Way
  14. Come Into My World feat. Chadness
  15. Gipsy Remix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Born in the Republic of Guinea, Western Africa, in 1979, Lyricson (real name Soulemane Boukara) is one of the most talented young French reggae dancehall artists, whose much anticipated debut album "Born 2 Go High" has been releashed by the Paris based record label Special Delivery Music. Backed by fresh riddims from Bost & Bim, Animalsons, Ghost and Caprisson, along with a few great Jamaican backdrops like for instance Bobby Digital's "One To One", well known from Sizzla hit single "Thank U Mamma", Lyricson shows that he's a versatile singjay with a style of his own, even though his vocal delivery comes in the same vein as Jamaican artists like Richie Spice, Turbulence and even Capleton. His versatility comes to expression in the way he handles the variety of riddims included here. Wether it's modern roots, dancehall, nyahbinghi or a hip-hop fueled street beat, Lyricson rides them seemingly effortless. Despite being a French artist all tunes are performed in English, which he does very well due to fact that he has stayed in the U.S.A. for quite some time. Only the combination tunes with French artists MC Jean Gab'1, Chadness & Skuddy, feature partly French lyrics. It's consciousness from beginning to end with many great tracks to enjoy. Among them the album opener "Suburb Politician", which comes across the wicked "Storm Alarm" riddim, the excellent combination tune "Govt Live Fe War" featuring guest appearances by Singing Melody & Natty King, the killer "Sign No Contract", "Jah Rules My World", the nyabinghi piece "H.J.D.", "Lord Of All Lords", the awesome "Storm Is Coming Our Way" and "7-9" across the "One To One" riddim. All these aforementioned titles are well produced modern roots tunes. On the dancehall side of things you'll find first-class efforts like "Gipsy", "Born 2 Go High (Higher Level)" and "Someday Someway", which comes over a well done new version of the "Billie Jean" riddim.
Lyricson has delivered a very convincing first album, truly worthwhile checking out!!